Embarrasing Fruity Loops Question

Discussion in 'Production' started by JungleFever, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    Yo,

    How do you slice up say.. atmoshperics then save/bounce what youve slice into a new sample?

    thanks!!! :D
     
  2. DJVendetta

    DJVendetta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to know this too.
    What I do is open Edison, cut the part of the sample I want, and paste it into a 'new' edison, then export it as a sound file and reimport to the playlist via the browser.
     
  3. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Depends on how the atmospherics were made really. If it's a synth sound, then have that synth in it's own pattern. And make sure you are set to play the pattern instead of the song (up next to the time display there are two check boxes, one for pattern, one for song). Then go to file / export, and export it to a wav file. Then drag and drop that wav into slicex, chop the pieces you want and repeat the process of exporting to wav. Then re import the new sliced bit and viola.

    If it's a sample, then drag it straight into slicex and chop, then export, and re-import.

    Alternatively, you can drag and drop the wavs onto the audio part of the track ( where all the automations happen) and use the slice tool on the actual wav, then delete / move the bits you dont want.
     
  4. Nautilus

    Nautilus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    highly suggest using slicex. Zoom in and put on repeat until the loop sounds correct (timing wise too).
     
  5. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
  6. Ghost_Trolley

    Ghost_Trolley New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Australia
    This is why I switched from FL to Ableton haha.
     
  7. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    im of the old fruity slicer paradigm. load up whatever you want to cut in the slicer, cut it up, drag that slice out to a normal sampler and have your way with it. problem with this method is that the sample becomes a file in a temporary directory not located where the rest of your stuff is, so remember to either save the sample as something in your own directory, or export project files when you save.
     
  8. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    This became so much easier when I started working in Cubase, just select the audio slices you made and hit 'bounce selection'.
     
  9. BigT

    BigT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    take a channel right click select fruity slicer it will cut up the sample and keep what you need :)