Drums

Discussion in 'Production' started by LineOne, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    What do you guys use to make ur drums. I like to use reason for my drums and cubase for instruments and sequencing.

    i was looking for a vsti plugin that is like the reason redrum. where u can load wav files and then select your seps.

    tis ok with reason but id like to be able to cut out the rewire and save my goddamn cpu from exploding thru the side of the case lol.

    safe guys + girls ( i know thiers some lovely ladies on here now lol) i thought it was just guys:rolleyes:
     
  2. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  3. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    yea i ave man but im not a drummer lol. got the drumpads but i suck at em lol


    im looking for summin like redrum. with the pattern sequencer
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    In battery you can trigger the pads with midi piano roll too, you know. As is the case with all vst instruments. You dont need a pattern sequencer for that. I cant tell how exactly since i dont know (i'm a fruity head myself) but there are many cubase users out here.
     
  5. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  6. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    :word:

    A pattern sequencer just complicates things surely?
     
  7. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    i have no experience with redrum....

    but maybe you should check out fxpansion's guru

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Psyrus

    Psyrus Give it some bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya know if u just import individual audio hits into cubase on seperate tracks and program the drums into the main arrangement page uve got so much more freedom with effecting and generally just fucking around with ur drums than using a sampler, since i started doin it that way i havent used a sampler since. :clown:
     
  9. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet


    yeah man thas jus fucking long tho. setting up each individual hit on a diff track. ill end up with like 25 drum tracks man lol. not very cpu friendly.

    and yeah i know i can arrange the hits in a midi file for battery, but this is the whole point of me wanting a sequence. u ever tried to create drums in cubase midi? it ent that easy m8

    will check out that guru. luks gud man
     
  10. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    and nah man. a pattern sequence is alot less complicated han arranging individual hits



    ive also tried that tataful drum machine but its a bit buggy. didnt like the layout too much
     
  11. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    i use audio on an audio track within cubase!!

    i hate samplers, i prefer my freedom!
     
  12. Heyaxe

    Heyaxe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a vst called Grizzly to make my drum loops, since it specializes in just that. Also it has support for disortion, pitch, delay and sub which are essential in making production style loops.

    Oh yeah, and i like to add a compressor, equalizer & maybe a bit of chorus for that extra topping (on my editor).
     
  13. greggh

    greggh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Renoise is quite good. Don't really use a drum programmer though I just put a fairly simple 1,5,9,11 in with some hats, some variation in hits then layer breaks with it. Sometimes i chop the break up or only use the hats or something.
     
  14. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet

    freedom with an audio track? to be honest i thought u wulda had more freedom wih a sampler rather than one audio file...
     
  15. Apathetic

    Apathetic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Hey,

    This is a solid debate here, good info.

    Would be great to have some posts like this on www.sub-bassmusic.com

    keep it up.
     
  16. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,546
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    dude i just did the most awesomest thing this weekend, ive got a blown jamo speaker which i run the breaks and bass red hot through with the bass maxxed out on the desk which makes the sound rrrrrrattle with excitement and then i miced that up for some berzerk sounding bits to mix in with the original.

    what you sequence the thing in makes no damn difference, its all down to the processing and the context.
     
  17. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    :word:

    'nuff said.
     
  18. standard_proc

    standard_proc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your using Cubase, use Native Instruments Battery 3, you can load drum sounds into each channel just as you would in redrum, then sequence them as you would do a normal VST instrument/synth using either the midi keyboard or drawing the notes manually.
     
  19. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    i suppose Redrum is ok if ur in Reason but NN-XT and NN-19 will give u so much more control over each sound ;)
     
  20. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,546
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    did you know mine and billies latest tune was made completely without plugs (save a peak controller and a free filter)? it takes like 30 seconds to render in top quality