Does anybody mix other genres?

Afek_One

VIP Junglist
I really just haven't been feeling dnb for the last few months. I still buy tunes. I still mix dnb, but I'm just not feeling it. I recorded a tight mix last week and didn't even bother uploading it. The whole approach to mixing dnb has just become boring. It's nothing more than phrasing. I've been playing it for almost 15 years too.

I'm into footwork/juke, but the whole genre is awful to mix. It's way too syncopated and every mix is about keeping it tight for a 16 or 32 and letting the tune drop.

I've been playing some techno, but I'm not that emotionally invested in it. I'm kind of at a loss.

Anybody else ever feel this way?

I really just haven't been feeling dnb for the last few months. I still buy tunes. I still mix dnb, but I'm just not feeling it. I recorded a tight mix last week and didn't even bother uploading it. The whole approach to mixing dnb has just become boring. It's nothing more than phrasing. I've been playing it for almost 15 years too.

I'm into footwork/juke, but the whole genre is awful to mix. It's way too syncopated and every mix is about keeping it tight for a 16 or 32 and letting the tune drop.

I've been playing some techno, but I'm not that emotionally invested in it. I'm kind of at a loss.

Anybody else ever feel this way?

It's not at all just about phrasing. It plays a big part yes, but there is a lot more than just phrasing.

I think maybe just take a break, and experiment with other genres.

I've been into that half timey sort of stuff recently, tunes like

the bass line on this one is rough

Last edited by a moderator:
The whole reason I only really play reggae/dub/dancehall these days really, the odd d&b tune I really like, for like a day...

Really doesn't inspire me to go "all in" at all, its more of a "going through the motions" thing, if I do its with old jungle stuff really.

Really like mixing old garage & the newer breaks/dirtybird'esque type stuff too.