Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

mr meh

Well-Known Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Location
Hull, UK
Ok so i just got Komplete 7 and trying to make some sick basslines in Massive, but the only way i can get any sounds out of it is by selecting a preset then playing my midi keyboard because i dont see any 'play' button or anything in Massive?

So is everyone using midi keyboards to make stuff with massive, or is there something im missing here?

(sorry if this question sounds stupid btw, im a production noob)

cheers
 

Robmobius

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Not a t all man... I couldn't play a keyboard to save my life. I make all my basslines in the piano roll of my DAW, and then adjust the notes to taste.
 

mr meh

Well-Known Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Location
Hull, UK
yeah thats kinda what i meant, a midi keyboard or the piano roll

some of these basslines i hear sound like they have been written in a sequencer rather than played in

is there a sequencer in massive?
 

Freek

Lets get freeeeeeky
VIP Junglist
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Location
Kent, UK
Hi mate, i think i know what u mean. it sounds like you are using the standalone app of massive. if this is the case then there is no built in sequencer as far as im aware.

if u were to open the massive vst in your DAW such as ableton, cubase, logic etc you will be able to use your DAWS midi sequencer to control massive
 

mr meh

Well-Known Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Location
Hull, UK
Hi mate, i think i know what u mean. it sounds like you are using the standalone app of massive. if this is the case then there is no built in sequencer as far as im aware.

if u were to open the massive vst in your DAW such as ableton, cubase, logic etc you will be able to use your DAWS midi sequencer to control massive

Nice one mate, this makes a bit more sense

not sure why you can open it as a standalone tho if you cant get sounds from it on its own?
 

Arfeds

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
i couldnt get that virtual midi keyboard to work. i really wanna use massive on my train joruney on the laptop but sequencing is a pain in the ass and theres no way i can have a midi keyboard on the train lol. did try using my iphone as a midi keyboard but that was also impractical

wish there was a funtion like the one in garage band that lets you use your keyboard as a midi keyboard
 

Simply D.

Polysonic
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Location
Southern California
i couldnt get that virtual midi keyboard to work. i really wanna use massive on my train joruney on the laptop but sequencing is a pain in the ass and theres no way i can have a midi keyboard on the train lol. did try using my iphone as a midi keyboard but that was also impractical

wish there was a funtion like the one in garage band that lets you use your keyboard as a midi keyboard

it was stated above that you can do so if you use the Massive VST in your DAW.
 

Simply D.

Polysonic
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Location
Southern California
i know what you meant. In FL Studio, Z through "/" are the white keys and A through (apostrophe) are the black keys.

Granted, in FL, its not as pretty or in depth. Just simple key strokes. and you can play different octaves if you change the root note.
 
Top Bottom