Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

Discussion in 'Production' started by mr meh, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Ok so i just got Komplete 7 and trying to make some sick basslines in Massive, but the only way i can get any sounds out of it is by selecting a preset then playing my midi keyboard because i dont see any 'play' button or anything in Massive?

    So is everyone using midi keyboards to make stuff with massive, or is there something im missing here?

    (sorry if this question sounds stupid btw, im a production noob)

    cheers
     
  2. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    you can use the keyboard to play notes (the thing you type on) in most DAWS
     
  3. Robmobius

    Robmobius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not a t all man... I couldn't play a keyboard to save my life. I make all my basslines in the piano roll of my DAW, and then adjust the notes to taste.
     
  4. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    yeah thats kinda what i meant, a midi keyboard or the piano roll

    some of these basslines i hear sound like they have been written in a sequencer rather than played in

    is there a sequencer in massive?
     
  5. Freek

    Freek Lets get freeeeeeky

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hi mate, i think i know what u mean. it sounds like you are using the standalone app of massive. if this is the case then there is no built in sequencer as far as im aware.

    if u were to open the massive vst in your DAW such as ableton, cubase, logic etc you will be able to use your DAWS midi sequencer to control massive
     
  6. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    I havent tried it...

    but here is a virtual midi keyboard. If your using Massive as a stand alone app, then you might be able to play the sounds on this

    (It says it's freeware)

    http://www.granucon.com/vmk.html
     
  7. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Nice one mate, this makes a bit more sense

    not sure why you can open it as a standalone tho if you cant get sounds from it on its own?
     
  8. Arfeds

    Arfeds Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    i couldnt get that virtual midi keyboard to work. i really wanna use massive on my train joruney on the laptop but sequencing is a pain in the ass and theres no way i can have a midi keyboard on the train lol. did try using my iphone as a midi keyboard but that was also impractical

    wish there was a funtion like the one in garage band that lets you use your keyboard as a midi keyboard
     
  9. Simply D.

    Simply D. Polysonic

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    it was stated above that you can do so if you use the Massive VST in your DAW.
     
  10. Arfeds

    Arfeds Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Simply D.

    Simply D. Polysonic

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    i know what you meant. In FL Studio, Z through "/" are the white keys and A through (apostrophe) are the black keys.

    Granted, in FL, its not as pretty or in depth. Just simple key strokes. and you can play different octaves if you change the root note.