Decks when you have no room...

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by josh, Feb 1, 2007.

1. josh

josh "LOUD NOISES!"

Basically the story goes... A friend of mine has gone away for a few months and she's kindly left me her decks/mixer and some vinyl for me to have a play with. Now I don't have any grand delusions of becoming the next big name in dnb or anything, but it would be fun to get them set up so that I can use them regularly, because they're currently piled up (carefully!) in a corner.

Now, I do (just) have room to set them up in said corner, but I've got absolutely nothing to put them on. I was wondering if just setting them up on the floor would be a worthwhile solution for now, or whether I'm going to cause some kind of horrific damage to them in this way.

Alternatively does anyone have any ghetto/cheapass solutions to this issue? I considered getting some bricks and bit of hardboard... But bear in mind that I'm a skinted student and ideally want to spend all my spare cash on 90s happy hardcore off ebay...

2. lokki

lokki JUNGLIST FROM DEYA

dont put em on the floor! one drunken stumble into em and ist bye bye...

haha

used soem bricks n wood...

safe

3. Dustek

Dustek Finished the PhD

Get a long piece of board, some mounting brackets, fit to wall.

4. dirtyhabit

dirtyhabit dirtyhabit

get anything you can mate sort of table height - then mesure the dex's n mixer - go to b&q and get the cheapest bit of wood/mdf cut to size and plant it on anything that will hold em, and enjoy many happy rinse outs! - or just kick sumones fence down a claim it for a table mate, its all good.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  5. Indi

Indi Tha Original ThreadKilla!

Go around the back of a Kwik Save or something and nab some milk crates, sturdy as fuck and one turntable will fit on top of a crate snugly. I did that when I was a student and it worked proper (y)

6. Indi

Indi Tha Original ThreadKilla!

Milk crates FTW!

7. mesh

mesh Active Member