Cue Points....

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by WhoSayReload?, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. WhoSayReload?

    WhoSayReload? Well-Known Member VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    337
    Location:
    Northampton
    Wondered this many a time, still unresolved....

    Can you set up cue points for tracks on a usb stick, or is it possible with the help of software or something to cut the intro lengths back without destroying the quality of tunes? Same things goes for cd's, that's one of the main reasons why I use Traktor so that I can drop tunes on 32 or 16.

    Any thoughts? safe
     
  2. ConEP

    ConEP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Essex
    You can set up cue points for usb on the cdjs from pioneer that support rekordbox using a pc, definitely possible to chop intros out too yeah although I wouldnt know how.

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  3. WhoSayReload?

    WhoSayReload? Well-Known Member VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    337
    Location:
    Northampton
    Hmmm, would the decks need to be plugged in by ethernet whilst playing the usb's? To get the cues?
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014
  4. ConEP

    ConEP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Essex
    Nope its stored on the usb for each individual track, the cdj 850.and up support it afaik

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
    WhoSayReload? likes this.
  5. WhoSayReload?

    WhoSayReload? Well-Known Member VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    337
    Location:
    Northampton
    Wicked I'm gonna check it out
     
  6. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Reloop rmp3's do this too - and they're a bit cheaper, but you can only store 4 cue points per folder, and the information is stored on the decks. They've been saying they'll look into storing them on the sticks and having four points per track for years, but I don't think anything's happened..

    Anyways; if you chuck each track in its own folder on the stick you've got four points per track, or if you store them four to a folder you've got one for each.
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA Glass Cobra VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,425
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    BH1
    With regards to cutting up intros of the actual track, any DAW will do this easily. Get a demo of Ableton and just chop the audio at the start of the track.
     
  8. Afek_One

    Afek_One Well-Known Member VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Chicago
    I store cue points on Traktor and Rekordbox.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I also don't only store cue points for jumps. I store them for mix points. It's a good tool to remind me you of weird tune structure.
     
  9. Jwood27

    Jwood27 VICTIM VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,214
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    London
    you can just use audacity can't you (unless it compresses the sound when you re-export?)