cue points recordbox

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by beknoxx, Nov 15, 2016.

  1. beknoxx

    beknoxx 7/11 7/11

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    963
    I played a show a couple of weeks ago and ended up tagging with the headliner who called me old school when I said I didn't use cue points hahaha. So I started looking at some of this in recordbox as there are times that I need the intro to be shorter so I can mix in for the break. also if I can use it for tunes that do not start on beat it would be great. Anybody have any tips on how to set the cue points? Do you do 16 bars 8 bars or how does this effect you when mixing?
     
    Polymer likes this.

  2. Jwood27

    Jwood27 VICTIM

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,160
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    London
    i just scroll the tune through to where i want to set a cue point and the just hold the jog wheel, press cue, then hold down the memory button after to retain the cue point on the pendrive. You can also do it in recordbox.

    I tend to cue my 16 before the drop, but it changes tune for tune - i'll usually have a couple per tune
     
    beknoxx and Polymer like this.
  3. Polymer

    Polymer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    London
    I've gone through each track and assigned hot cues at the start, where the build starts, where the drop is. A,B,C etc.
     
    beknoxx likes this.
  4. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,552
    Likes Received:
    499
    is it only on certain pioneers where you can call you queue points using the left and right arrows?
     
    Polymer likes this.
  5. Jwood27

    Jwood27 VICTIM

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,160
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    London
    Only on 2000s and up can you use hot cues afaik. should be able to use the side arrows on most Standard cdjs and certainly with your new ones tone.
     
    Polymer and hyperd4eva like this.
  6. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,552
    Likes Received:
    499
    cool - thought as much - I found the hot queues to be more of a ball ache than the arrows. I used my brother in laws xdj all in one thing and they didn't have the arrows. was really annoying!
     
    Polymer likes this.
  7. beknoxx

    beknoxx 7/11 7/11

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    963
    So u set three cue points didn't think about that...just space them out every 16 or something maybe .....good shout
     
    Polymer likes this.
  8. beknoxx

    beknoxx 7/11 7/11

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    963
    I got the 850's and I'm not sure if I can do that on the decks but will give it a shot...it's very time consuming to set these things up but I guess if u do it as you go maybe not that bad.

    I set them for sixteen but sometimes it moves it back 22 seconds and sometimes it's 44 seconds...what is the time stamp for a 16 to you? I always hear it different from people.a sixteen is 44 seconds to me. Also I find most breaks are 44 seconds in a tune so this is forcing me to mix right at the break which is the hardest mix imo so maybe I should set them back to 24 bars...not sure
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
    Polymer likes this.
  9. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    BH1
    I do mine like this, gotta have that cheeky one 11secs before the drop ya know!

    Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 17.11.25.png
     
    beknoxx likes this.
  10. beknoxx

    beknoxx 7/11 7/11

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    963
    mang that 11 sec one is too fast for an old head like me. I cant eq fast enough for that haha.....or do u just use that for teasers? I got all my likwid set up and I have to admit I played them last night and I was straight bossing that shit.

    Russ I see you have them set at the beginning of the traks too. I tried to set a couple of these up as well for some of the tunes that don't start right on beat and when I go to the decks it will not let m ejump to the cue for some reason almost like anything under a second it doesn't register on the 850's. You get that with any of yours?

    Tone if you see this I would recommend using these if you haven't started already. The best thing so far has been for tunes that start fucked up or that don't drop on 16 24 or 32's as now they all line up with the drop and the tunes that start fucked up now have places that I can easily mix from.
     
  11. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    BH1
    Yeah a similar thing used to happen with my 800s when setting the cue points live so I guess you've just gotta have the first one just a tiny but late or something. Doesnt happen on the 900 nexus doe
     
    beknoxx likes this.
  12. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    BH1
    you'll probably find the ones that dont work, the cue point might actually be before 0 secs thats why it goes weird.
     
    beknoxx likes this.
  13. beknoxx

    beknoxx 7/11 7/11

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    963
    I think that is what it is. Thanks mang!