cubase help

Discussion in 'Production' started by tone090, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    does anyone have or know any very basic cuebase tutorials as ive been through some on here and im still unsure on how to start even on the basics.
     
  2. HH Radio

    HH Radio New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm no wizard on it mate , but what are you needing help with?
     
  3. Sauberman

    Sauberman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ipswich, UK
    Forums like this are great for asking specific questions, like HH said if there's something you're having trouble with, ask away there's a bunch of people on here that use Cubase who'll be happy to help out.

    If you need a more general intro, Dance tech have a 3 parter "beginners guide to cubase"

    http://www.dancetech.com/article.cfm?threadid=160&lang=0

    It's not the best in the world but it'll give you a good kickstart.

    SteinbergUsers also have some smaller vids on specific techniques:

    http://www.steinbergusers.com/cubase/cubase_vguides.php

    And read the manual, ofc :twisted:

    EDIT: Forgot to mention, everything I linked is for SX3, but if you're using 4, its very similar, you'll work it out.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  4. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    wats ur prob mate?
     
  5. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    if your unsure on how to start on the basics when you have a 2 page tutorial OF THE BASICS then i dont think audio production is for you. lol sorry m8 no offence
     
  6. jammybstard

    jammybstard New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tell us the Hardware and software your using for a start
     
  7. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    i think some peeps have probs with Cubase right at the start probably cuz they've hardly got any vst instruments / effects, its best to get some simple bits together, although you already have a couple that come with the program (a1 etc)

    at the end of the day the very basics aren't rocket science - theres loooooooooooads of info on the internet especially nowadays (not like when i first started out and i had to teach myself everything with no one to help out lol), try google for starters, plus all the various dnb producer forums (there's atleast 4 really big production forums for dnb specifically online and loads more smaller ones)

    also check u tube out, lots of tutorials on there :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2008
  8. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    it was just loading samples etc but ive figured it out! just a quick question thou ive got a sub kick sample and it fits into half of the 1 box in the timeline and evertime i try and put the same sample next to it, it leaves half a gap if that makes any sense. cheers for the replys!
     
  9. filtersweeperVC

    filtersweeperVC filtersweeper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I think I know what your problem is. Go to the top of your screen where it says 1/8 or 1/16 etc.. (its a blue box second from the right)
    then go one box over to where it says "bar" or "beat" and select "quantize" This way the cursor automatically clicks on 1/8th notes breaks points. This will allow you to slide the kick over more without leaving a gap. If this is not enough, then change 1/8 to 1/16 and do the same thing. Slide it over until it sounds proper. By changing between 1/8 to 1/16 etc it gives you more fine tuneability. I hope this works.
    [image]http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp346/filtersweeper/studiopicture.jpg[image]
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  10. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    if ur doin drum and bass m8 i usually use 1/64 doted