connecting studio monitors to your pc... ?

Discussion in 'Production' started by chromey, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Alright guys.
    Whats the best way to connect studio monitors to a PC soundcard?
    I keep seeing that the monitors have XLR inputs, but obviously the sound card has stereo phono out (my soundcard has a front bay with L/R phonos too)

    Is it as simple as getting hold of a a XLR>Phono connector from Maplins?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  2. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
  3. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    that doesnt really answer my question.

    Looking here, http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Audiophile2496.html I can see the 2496 has less outputs on the rear than the front panel on my terratec DMX card.

    I've just never dealt with cabling using XLR.
    SO i ask again; whats the best way to cable up from PC (by whatever means) to XLR on the back of the monitors?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  4. Solitude Beats

    Solitude Beats Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    which soundcard do you have ?
     
  5. vickvega

    vickvega Mr. Blonde

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    badlands of nc.
  6. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  7. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Terratec DMX 6Fire 24/96
     
  8. Radius

    Radius Give me back my passport u slags

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,243
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Somewhere over the flyover
    JACK TO XLR CABLE with a 1/4 to 1/8 adaptor if needed...
     
  9. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    ahhh you never told me that....

    ok, do believe you can get phono to xlr leads (if you cant, its not hard to make a couple) but..... you need to check that if the monitors will accept an unbalanced input signal

    if not then like others have said... get a mixer.... the tapco mix series seem pretty good for the money, last time i checked the mix50 was stupidly cheap, having said that, this was last year, prices on studio gear have shot up since then

    oh btw.... maplins is shit and expensive.... ebay is probably the best place for leads ;)
     
  10. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    bugger, just had another look at the specs of the monitors I was thinking of; YAMAHA HS50M, and noted this:
    So I guess that means a mixer is a must then.