Connecting a Turntable to a Line input of a mixer.

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Joey AdhD, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,174
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    I have a Xone 42 and its a 4 channel mixer, 2 phono, 2 line.

    I want to connect a 3rd turntable, i will have to use a line input though. I have heard I can use a DI box to do this...can anyone shed some light on if it will work?

    cheers.
     
  2. jones-e

    jones-e Junglist VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    5
    yeah that will work fine. Basically the only difference between phono and line is the level of the signal (phono is much lower/quieter than line), so all you need to do is amplify the phono signal (to the same level as a line input) before plugging into the mixer and it will sound fine. Some TT's have this built in (TTX's and some stantons) but if not then something like this will do it for you - http://www.chemical-records.co.uk/s...src=google&exs_lnty=products&Track=SK128513UK
     
    Joey AdhD likes this.
  3. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,174
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    excellent work mate...top man.
     
  4. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,366
    Likes Received:
    763
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    What Jones-e said, which you already know, which basicly makes this a pointless post.
     
  5. justin_credible

    justin_credible Lurker VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cambridge
    ^^This
     
  6. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Tribal Leader VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,871
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Location:
    STN
    this also