computer heads ... please help ..somebody ..thankyouplease .

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by EWOKS, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    basically, my laptop needs wiping, ive not got a system restore point saved, i want to completely re-format the c:drive. im on vista , how can i do this without any discs whatsoever ...

    ive trolled all over google looking for answers but its doing my nut, surely theres a way ??

    id appricate the help grately n ting :rinsed:
     
  2. herojuana

    herojuana hairy kuala

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    948
    Location:
    London/Sheffield
    presumeably to get rid of child porn yeh?

    umm, do you want to wipe the OS off, and install a new one?
     
  3. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    i could do , i dont care. i dont have any discs for a new OS though, so if its possible with no discs then yes. if not , i just wanna wipe it all .

    child porn.. nah, well .... maybe .. but really it just stupidly slow, full of shit, and a mess.. im getting a new comp and want to just use this for internetz.. so i wanna wipe it and have a fresh laptop. seen .. i got an external hardrive if thats any help
     
  4. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    at the mo its got vista on, id like a copy of XP on it, and be able to wipe it ???

    any ideas ????
     
  5. Naib

    Naib Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brum - UK
    Yer its a PITA that computer sellers no longer provide you with the installation disks...
    What I would do is torrent Vista install DVD, it isn't illegal because when you bought yr laptop you bought a LICENSE to use your windows and you didn't buy a copy of Windows (OEM)

    So find a torrent where you can d/l the OEM version of Vista and install from that
     
  6. Jwood27

    Jwood27 VICTIM

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,128
    Likes Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Cardiff
    as Naib said, if you can get your original OS key (vista or whatever) then just download the applicable torrent (Must be the exact same OS, so vista 64 bit home premium, not vista 64 standard - depending on what you have)
     
  7. DaDarkSide09

    DaDarkSide09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Hmmm, some laptops come with a "hidden" recovery partition.

    Can you do me a favour, and go to Start, and in the place where you can write stuff at the bottom, type in "diskmgmt.msc" without the quotes. Let me know if you have a secondary partition........

    If you have, i might be able to help you reinstall without the discs...


    Also what brand of laptop is it?


    Your OS key will be under the barcode on the underside of your laptop, most usually are.
     
  8. NastyLimbCheat

    NastyLimbCheat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bristol
    shouldnt windows be able to make a boot disc/dvd to reinstall?

    or your laptop might have a factory settings wipe?
     
  9. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    ok. Its a packard bell, easynote .. its old and shit.. but it works. and is fine if its clear. i have a dodgy version of vista someone put on it , that i dont want anymore. but will keep if i have to . preferably, id like XP. i dont mind using torrents, if i know it wil work.

    lastly, under the barcode on the bottom it says " windows XP Home Edition " then under the barcode it says " product key then a masive long number " ..
     
  10. Fratanize

    Fratanize Keepin the jungle alive

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PORTSMOUTH
    packard bell???? Packard smell!
     
  11. DaDarkSide09

    DaDarkSide09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ah ok, if you have a dodgy version of Vista then it's likely that whoever put it on probably wiped the hidden partition, if there even was one being an XP machine.

    So that idea is out of the question.

    Ok, so your product key is for XP Home. If you can find a copy of Windows Xp Home, floating about somewhere, then you can just install it and use the product key underneath your laptop. Be a perfectly legit windows, passes WGA and everything.

    The only thing to watch out for when reinstalling is having to relocate and install drivers on it. And as is usually the case when you reinstall XP, there is no generic wireless driver or even LAN driver, so before you attempt any reinstall, i would find out your exact laptop model and go to their website, in the support section and you should find a list of all the drivers you will need.

    Just been on their website and there are loads of EasyNote laptops, you will need your model number mate.

    Edit......sorry here's the link http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/?m=step2&i=menu_notebook


    On a side note.....your product key will only work with Windows XP Home Edition.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  12. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    thankyou.

    so, ive gotta find someone with xp home on disc ?? .. or if i get a torrent download of it ... then what ? .. my dvd burner as never really worked..?. as i said i dont know what im doing. fiinding the drivers will be ok tho mate. ill make sure i have them all on my external hardrive first.

    and my model ect i know , its a Packard Bell EASYNOTE S4802 . then there a product key under it for XP home .

    so as you put it , i need to find a copy of XP home floating about , you mean on disc right ?? thats not gunna be easy ...
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  13. DaDarkSide09

    DaDarkSide09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Yeh on disc mate im afraid, or a torrented version will be fine, but you can never reaaaaaaally 100% trust there's no spyware or shit tucked in there somewhere with torrents.
    Good luck mate, let us know how you get on.

    If you manage to get one, its just as simple as putting it in the drive, rebooting your computer, and the computer should boot from the disc, and just follow the steps and you should be up and running in under an hour.
     
  14. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,698
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Watford
    Torrent it. Put it on a usb stick (they're well cheap to buy if you havn't already). Take it to a mates who have a working DVD burner.
     
  15. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    ok.. i got no chance of finding it on disc tho really have i ... unless i just ask people in the street. i got no mates. im a gimp.. thats all .

    if i find a torrent version. then what ? how would i go from there?? would i have to burn something to disc ? i dont get it .. please dont give up on me squire haha. if i download something, what exactly do i burn to disc (presuming that is what i do ) .. and how do i run it ?
     
  16. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    you sure theres not a way of just wiping the c:drive, or just clearing my laptop. i could leave this OS on if possible .
     
  17. DaDarkSide09

    DaDarkSide09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Hmmmm, ok mate, there's a few things you could do......

    When you download a OS via torrent, it will likely be an ISO file. An ISO file is just basically an exact image of the original disc and you need an ISO burning program.....

    A very good free one is called IMGBurn http://www.imgburn.com/

    If you go down this route i'll be happy to walk you through it......

    Some other alternatives could be just cleaning up your computer.

    Go to start>Accessories>system tools> then click on disk cleanup. That should get rid of all the junk and temp files, clogging up your computer.

    Download a registry cleaner.....my fave free one being CCleaner >>>> http://www.ccleaner.com/

    Install it, run it, then you will have an option to scan the registry and clean it, do that. Might speed things up a little.

    You could try defragmenting your hard drive. Made by the same company who made CCleaner, a free pretty good defragger called Defraggler >>>>> http://www.piriform.com/defraggler

    Also download a good uninstaller called Revo Uninstaller >>>>> http://www.revouninstaller.com/ download the free one, then go through all the programs and whatnot you don't use, and uninstall them, it will also remove any leftover registry items.

    Try this for starters mate, see how it goes, might speed things up quite a bit, its surprising how much quicker your computer gets after cleaning registry and clearing clutter.

    After that i'll walk you through some registry tweaks for faster performance.



    PS, Defragmenting may take a long time. Let it finish though, could take upto a couple of hours......
     
  18. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
  19. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    or should i buy one with activation code/product key or whatever its called .
     
  20. DaDarkSide09

    DaDarkSide09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Well, the product key on the bottom of your laptop will work with any XP Home Edition disc, so all you need is the disc.

    You could buy one with the key for peace of mind but there's no guarantee it hasn't been used. So you may end up paying extra for nothing. At least with the key on your laptop you know it will defo work.

    So yeh that disc should do the trick mate