Compressing My Mix

Alexi

Drench Audio
VIP Junglist
Hi,

First Of all by compression I mean sound compression not making files take up less space.

I have recently recorded some mixes onto MP3 and as I am still a beginner, the volume during the mix is all over the place, songs are too loud and some are too quiet. I want to compress them to make a more overall level. I have tried using the presets in Cool Edit Pro, which work to some extent but cut all the bass out of the drops, so is hardly ideal. Has anyone got any tips for making the levels roughly the same whilst still keeping full range of EQs etc.

Thanks in advance

Load the mix up into a wave editor. Select the bits that you want to change and adjust the volumes up and down on those bits (add db or subtract them). Any good editor will give you this ability.

'Compressing' is not what you want to do because you'll be fucking with different frequencies throughout the mix.

However if you recorded with fucked up frequencies, i.e. have too little bass or too much - redo the mix. Don't try and fix this afterwards - unless you have the same problem throughout the mix.

'Compressing' is not what you want to do because you'll be fucking with different frequencies throughout the mix.

bizactly.

i'm entirely too noob to be a pedant,

but after looking into this thread i think your looking more along the lines of 'Volume normalization' than compression...

someone jump on my head if i'm wrong?

bizactly.

i'm entirely too noob to be a pedant,

but after looking into this thread i think your looking more along the lines of 'Volume normalization' than compression...

someone jump on my head if i'm wrong?

Yeah that's right - you just need to tweak the volume of your mix, not compress it - that's something completely different...