Choosing a Mixer - do i need usb or is analogue good enough when recording?

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Trickle, Jan 5, 2010.

1. Trickle

Trickle New Member

right so i'm looking to order a mixer very soon (sadly its gonna have to be an entry-level piece of kit for the mo, i'm new to the game).

Initially i was set on a mixer with usb ports for recording my mixes to pc but looking around, anything with usb capabilities kinda compromises other features so i'm wondering how much of a difference sound quality is between usb and analogue when recording ?

also any other misc. info/ tips/ advice about mixers around the £100-150 mark will be greatly appreciated lol

ta

2. richie_stix

richie_stix gomby plz

go for the good ole phono lead into line in mate... much better ;)

3. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

Ok just forget this USB business for now, if your just starting your mixes are guna sound shite for at least a year anyways so having a USB won't make things sound better.

For that budget you can definately get yourself a decent entry level mixer but you will struggle to find a mixer with a Record Out slot on it for that price.

http://www.decks.co.uk/products/numark/x6
    http://www.decks.co.uk/products/american_audio/Q_D5_MKII

Personally I'd go with the Numark as they have decent sound quality and generally if looked after they will last the first couple of years mixing :)

Hope that helps, thanks us if it did ;)

4. emy

emy Member

What I did when I started was just use a splitter to split the output into two, one going to the speakers and the other to the line in on the laptop, so if your mixer only has one output you can still use it to record from

5. Trickle

Trickle New Member

hmm that numark might just be out of my price range seein as im gettin all my equipment with this coming terms' student loan !!

what's the verdict on the Numark M3, its lookin like my most probable option..

http://www.decks.co.uk/products/numark/m3