changing the BPM of a track

Discussion in 'Production' started by Shatner's Bosom, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    Hi,

    Say I have ripped a record and it's 173.3, is there an easy way to warp it to 173? Do I need a DAW? Can I use something free?

    I tried Audacity and it didn't work
     
  2. smoothassilk

    smoothassilk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    155
    Audacity should do it: you want a -0.173% tempo change.

    If not, get REAPER.
     
    Shatner's Bosom likes this.
  3. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    haha ill probably be posting, asking how to use Reaper in the next few days

    cheers
     
  4. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    if you can’t do it send me the track via aim or something ill do it for ya mate
     
    Shatner's Bosom likes this.
  5. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Open FL.
    Set tempo t 173.3.
    Load tune as a sample and bob into the playlist.
    Change tempo to 173.
    "Restretch channels now?" - "Yes."
    Render.
     
  6. danwell

    danwell BAAAAAAAAAAAAABE WAIT

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    711
    Just wondering why you need to change it? If it's a vinyl copy the bpm will probably flutter throughout anyway
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    ^ if that's the case then you need to manually flex the transients across the whole track. doubt audacity can do that but I might be wrong
     
  8. wingz

    wingz everyones fav austrian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Austria
    you'd be better off doing it in a daw for sure, with audacity it's gonna take ages :D
     
  9. johneysvk

    johneysvk tnuc

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Slovakia
    vvvv
     
    Shatner's Bosom likes this.
  10. Mason John

    Mason John 21st Junta

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Norfolk, Virginia, United States
    Audacity > Adjust Tempo (or some shit like that). Just type in the desired tempo. Done.