Changing Pitch of breaks without changing bpm???

Discussion in 'Production' started by Structure4, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Structure4

    Structure4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it possible with software and not an emu etc? can't work it out, please help!


    1:45 in this vid

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  2. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    use TimeStreching ...your DAW should have a few diffrent options to choose from
     
  3. Structure4

    Structure4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1

    Fair, I do use it to pitch a break that is say 160 to 175 but I cant get it to change pitch at the same tempo, always goes back to the original pitch???
     
  4. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    use the 'pitch shift' option, what DAW are you using?
     
  5. Structure4

    Structure4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1

    Logic, I use timestretch to locators usually, tried pitching it in exs 24 too.

    ---------- Post added at 20:25 ---------- Previous post was at 20:19 ----------

    Got the fucker, cheers mate! Was looking in the wrong place lol!
     
  6. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    dont know anything about logic tbh, there should be algorthm settings sumwhere that will let u do pitch-shift tho, would be a strange thing to leave out
     
  7. Structure4

    Structure4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice 1, thanks mate, got it!
     
  8. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Melodyne is good for this
     
  9. umbr3lla-music

    umbr3lla-music Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    hit the nail on the head
     
  10. RedRavenRuler

    RedRavenRuler boom baby

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bloomington Indiana
    I use Edison? Pitch envelope =D
     
  11. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    just automate the pitch? if your using a rex file or put the break into midi so u get individual drum its then u can just change the pitch of each hit.
    if that makes sense.
     
  12. Labrat

    Labrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    How do you guys go about changing the Tempo and not the Pitch then??
    Ive been working on this for a while with my emu but its losing the breaks feel a lot of the time.
    Fracture and Neptune are dons at chopping breaks and making basslines, i could make 50 how to threads on every sound in theyre tunes :)
     
  13. tv_g

    tv_g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    LA
    chop each hit?
     
  14. Labrat

    Labrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    yeh ive been doing that and applying swing manually, will have to do for now
     
  15. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    the emu is the king of timestreck

    ---------- Post added at 07:31 ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 ----------

    oh but failing that, get akaizer. little timestreck app based on the old akai samplers timestreck algorithm, its brilliant.
     
  16. Structure4

    Structure4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks to all your replys, appreciate the help, have worked it out now,

    was looking in the same place as time stretching rather than AU (Me being an idiot basically!!)

    appreciate the help!!
     
  17. tv_g

    tv_g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    LA
    chopping breaks can be tedious and time consuming or it can be a time to relax. i call it the "raking sand" part of producing dnb. :D
     
  18. Labrat

    Labrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    probably my favorite part of producing, I miss using renoise, i would sit and make stupid drum edits for hours with commands. so easy, makes midi seem stupid.
    Still adjusting the chopping in my new workflow.
     
  19. tv_g

    tv_g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    LA
    used to use midi and i'll never go back to that again. esp with long breaks you spend more time previewing notes than sequencing to find the kick, hat, or snare that would be instantaneous in an audio view. :mad:
     
  20. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,498
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    ^^^ normally that takes one second of previewing if you got something thats normally called memory that should be sufficient...