CDJ 400 Hardrive?

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Axle, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. Axle

    Axle Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, so as you most probably know, the CDJ 400's have USB compatability, which got me thinking.. If I could find an adapter on the net somewhere, that has; 1 USB head at one end, and 2 at the other end, then could I rig up 1 hard drive to both the decks? Effectivley it would mean I would only need one music source that could be used to store all my music, and then used with both decks. Or will the CDJ's not be able to use the hardrive at the same time?
     
  2. Jwood27

    Jwood27 VICTIM

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,128
    Likes Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Cardiff
    you probably could, but frankly you could just get two sticks with about 20 gb on each quite cheaply.
    some hard drives tend to crash at inconvenient times, so while you probably could it may not be the most practicle of solutions, but i would imagine it should be possibe.. don't take my word for it though
     
  3. Axle

    Axle Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh, your probably right now i think about it- would be a lot cheaper than buying a hardrive! Cheers
     
  4. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    errr, can't you put a LAN cable in between pioneer cdj's, so that they both run on the USB stick you plugged in the first?
    Or does it only come with the later versions?
     
  5. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    ^^No, only on the 2000s and 900s can you do that.

    For future reference you cannot use the same HD across two 400s because the software in built is not made to do this. I'm not 100% sure but theoretically it won't.
     
  6. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    Aha. Well, buying 2 usb sticks to put that nights set of tracks on will do the track for 'em in that case then...
     
  7. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    You can't do it anyway, just like you can't plug an external HD into 2 PCs at the same time. The hard drive can't contend with seek commands from 2 different sources at the same.

    The head on the hard drive would just send a jumble data.
     
  8. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    seriously? Plug it in the first, and then hook up a LAN cable from first to second?
     
  9. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Yes. You can plug an ethernet cable from 1 pc to the other and create a bridge connection, then share the external hard drive.

    Not possible with 2 CDJ400's though.
     
    ilovelondon likes this.
  10. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    ahh, good one.

    Same thing again: gonna keep the 400s: buy two USB sticks. Easy as fuck. That way is like a record case, you can't take your whole collection with you if you spin vinyl aswell. (y)
     
  11. Wizla

    Wizla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    This is all i've been doing since i got the 2000's usb mixing all the way!
     
  12. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium

    you lucky fuck.