CD or Vinyl

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by robzy, Feb 24, 2010.

1. robzy

robzy New Member

Guys, Im sure this has been posted more than a few times before but I'm really stuck between the two. I have been mixing vinyl for a few years now and have built up a decent sized collection. Only with vinyl prices being sky high and tunes seem harder to get hold of since my local record shop closed down I'm really tempted to move to CD.

My decks are starting to look and sound beaten now and I'm not sure if I should replace them with more decks or CDJs. I have never mixed CDs before and have always been scared to touch the CDJs in clubs as I'm scared of everything going wrong mid set. Most of my mates are still using vinyl but like me are not getting much in the way of new music.

Since getting half good at making my own tunes I'm really tempted to start mixing CDs and buying music from beatport or a similar site.... What do I do?

At the moment Im more tempted to chuck the decks out... do I keep the Vinyl or sell it? Obviously keeping certain albums like wormhole.

I've seen some of the big names step up to the decks with only a CD wallet so it seems now is the time.

What does everyone think?

2. rob_del_terror

rob_del_terror - ̿ ̿'̵͇̿̿з=(•̪●)=ε

3. Wellsy

Wellsy Member

totally up to you man, it aint hard to get to grasps with cdjs. I'm a cdj head and prefer it over vinyl as it makes things easier imo, not in a mixing way but as you said, all you need is a tiny cd wallet and your sorted and I find it very convenient to purchase songs anytime and get them within minutes, makes no difference what you do really

4. Oria

Oria Member

the music will be the same which is what people come for ! Get a pair of CDJ400 then you can just stick in a USB stick in each one of you whole library and away you go.