Cartel - Chainmaker new completed tune

The first thing I noticed on the track were the solid drums you laid down, especially by :22. Also, the "lurking" sub was pretty big. 1:30 felt kind of like a breakdown, and by 1:52 I felt that a bit more should be going on sonically (maybe add some incidental samples, a faint arp or something?). I really liked the total cut-off at 2:15—it was jarring, but in a good way. Not much was happening in the actual breakdown, again I feel you could add extra parts. I did really like the distorted bass. One last thing is that the second drop at about 3:10 needs more of a buildup to set it off, I feel.

Overall the song hangs together quite nicely.

BTW, I'm a new producer myself, so if I said something wrong or off base I apologize in advance.

nice snappy clean drums mate

like the square wave / neuro type bass u got going on. If i were doing this tune id make that more in ur face but thats just how i would do it.

I agree about 2.10, nice lil addition to the tune... i will be trying that in one my productions.

Good work my man

cheers lads, appreciate the feedback. Ive spent too long on the tune now so im probably gonna leave it as is haha. i tried adding more around the breakdown but it didnt feel right as its quite an understated song. i also tried a big buidl up before the drop but opted for the bass growls in the end as its a bit different. WIll deff bare it in mind for my next tune tho. thanks again!

your drums are really nice and so is your bass, but the drop is too 'sudden' because the pad sound is still going and stops abruptly... try to highpass it or turn op the wet on the reverb, so the pad disappears when the reverbed kick at 0:43 hits

overall great tune, really dark :)

your drums are really nice and so is your bass, but the drop is too 'sudden' because the pad sound is still going and stops abruptly... try to highpass it or turn op the wet on the reverb, so the pad disappears when the reverbed kick at 0:43 hits