car amp

sam the dnb man

Variation
VIP Junglist
Joined
May 24, 2007
Location
Feltham
one time i tried plugin the amp into the wall...by gettin a plug socket and cable and solderin the power cable ends to the power part of the amp...i turned it on and it blew up..i nearly killed myself..my flat went all dark cos all the power switches went off
 

MARLZTAH

++DuB PrOFesSoR++
VIP Junglist
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Location
London
one time i tried plugin the amp into the wall...by gettin a plug socket and cable and solderin the power cable ends to the power part of the amp...i turned it on and it blew up..i nearly killed myself..my flat went all dark cos all the power switches went off

man your fucking lucky..... your household electric is 240v.... more than enough to kill you
 

slimbo011

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Location
Gloucester
get a 240 - 12v convertor. would need to be able 2 handle quite a bit of current.
Or just use a car battery and link the remote and 12v terminals on the amp. will drain it tho
 

Dan M

hard gay northern bear
VIP Junglist
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Location
YORKSHIRE
to my pc av got a car amp hooked up to a 1000w vibe fli sub and some toshiba surround sound speakers from a tv. you can get some serious bass out of that but all in all its no good as monitors because its bass heavy....
 

Jacomelli

J4COM3LL1
VIP Junglist
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Location
London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
you need to connect the amp to the on/off switch to your stereo, otherwise the amp wont turn on...just a word of warning just in case you didnt know...normally its a thin blue cable that connects from the amp to the stereo, im not sure a mixer has one or stereo to be honest..?

just a thought?
 

jimchizz

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Location
Bromley
go talk to a car audio shop. they got them boards set up with all the head units and speakers built into them, i dont know if they have them running off a car battery in store, could be worth a look
 

slimbo011

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Location
Gloucester
no they will have a convertor. the convertor will probably blow most of ur budget.

as for the remote turn on lead, link the terminal on the amp to the 12v terminal on the amp. and when your not using it, take the cable out.

job done
 

MARLZTAH

++DuB PrOFesSoR++
VIP Junglist
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Location
London
for a setup for parties you want a proper power amp mate..... im not sure how well a party would turn out after the amp goes and you dont know how to fix it

search the net.... you get loadsa power amps for under £250
 
Top Bottom