Break sampling question

Discussion in 'Production' started by Topsoul, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. Topsoul

    Topsoul New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to use some old funk breaks in my beats to fatten 'em up a bit and add some real shuffle, but once I download the break - i.e. think break or amen for use in a liquid track - I don't know how to fit it to the tempo of my dnb track. If someone could tell me how to do this in FL Studio that would be great.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    Play it at a higher pitch, or cut it up and place the individual hits?
     
  3. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I just figured this out the other day.

    - Right click anywhere in the window with all the automation clips, sounds, etc and pick insert audio track.
    - Right click the box that pops up and select load sample.
    - Paste the sample into the playlist window thingamajig.
    - Bring up the box with all the options ["channel settings"] for the audio clip [by clicking the appropriate box a few times.]
    - Theres a thingy there called "time stretching" under which you'll find a drop box that usually says "Resample", change this to "Slice Stretch".
    - Turn the "time" knob next to it until your break fills 1 or 2 or however many bars you need on the playlist... thingy.

    That's it really.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  4. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Right click the sample in your file browser and send to FL Slicer channel.
    That will chop the sample up in individual hits and it will mostly fit the tempo.
    Sometimes you'll need to adjust the time or bars knobs a bit.
     
  5. Topsoul

    Topsoul New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the swift replies guys, sorted it now. Much appreciated!
     
  6. webbga00

    webbga00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is why I love REX!
     
  7. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    this is why i love ableton's autowarp function
     
  8. duttymonster

    duttymonster deep in the jungle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cooden Beats
    that's cool that you can do that in FLStudio. I have to bump stuff to wavs and stretch in Soundbooth with Reason.

    I'm not dreaming am i? FLstudio is not MAC compatible?
     
  9. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    No, you can run it on mac, but you'll have to use bootcamp with a windows installation.