Bouncing down your kicks..

Discussion in 'Production' started by jakeshiftzw, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. jakeshiftzw

    jakeshiftzw Shiftz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Right, i've started a new tune and i seem to of made a kick i actually quite like the sound of! What is the best way to bounce this kick down to be used in other tunes? What Db etc?

    Cheers
     
  2. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Probably the safest way would be to bounce it at a low volume then normalize it?
     
  3. Nydus

    Nydus All in the sig.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    No, safest way is to just bounce it with a bit of headroom.
     
  4. parsons19

    parsons19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    This :)
     
  5. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    Yeah, you can always increase the gain later but you can't undo clipping or limiting
     
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    It depends on how good the kick is in your opinion. If you are really happy with it then compress/limit and then use it in your productions. Saves leaving headroom and having to add plugins every time you wana use it. Make it sick now, then bounce, be done with it. Thats how i'd do it anyways. you can always layer more stuff after.
     
  7. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Disregard my advice :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  8. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Don't say that! :0

    How would normalizing be clipping the sample though if it doesn't exceed 0db...?
     
  9. aoyueyang1101

    aoyueyang1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Saves leaving headroom and having to add plugins every time you wana use it.[​IMG]
     
  10. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Yeah which is what i was saying earlier