Bit of a problem with my interface and cubase

Discussion in 'Production' started by elmaruk, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    Yo
    Well up untill today everything has been running smoothly. The problem is, when i hit play on Cubase there is a couple of seconds pause before it plays, when i go to stop it it'll continue to play for a second or two before it stops. Don't understand why this is happening, never had this problem before with my new pc especially when i'm using an interface. Any suggestions?
     
  2. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    sounds like a Buffer issue with your soundcard, check the Buffer settings between your standard drivers and asio4all if you are using it (increase/decrease the buffer and see what happens), could also be a memory issue, check Task Manager (ctrl+alt+delete) and see whats going on with the Memory and CPU usage, have you got anything like Anti-virus going on? switch it off while ur producing. last issue could be Virtual Memory, if your harddrive is a bit full or fragmented, although really that shuldnt be a problem for a DAW, unless you have allot of samples
     
  3. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    cheers bud, i'll give these a go and let you know the results.
     
  4. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    figured it out.
    turns out one of the the samples i was using was being loaded from a funny place. as a result it was taking just that second longer. i guess anyways.
     
  5. simonchamp

    simonchamp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ASIO4ALL. type that in google download that ASIO driver. been using that for years. cuts all ur latency problems!