Beat syncing + Acapellas etc

Discussion in 'Production' started by Dj Jammin, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you beat sync accapellas and tunes with beats to your own beats?

    Fruity Loops btw :cool:
     
  2. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    come on you know how to mix dont you???

    line up the accapella so it starts on beat and if its too fast, slow it down and vise versa
     
  3. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Get the original tune with the beats. Sync it with your beats (look at the wave forms, the drum beats should be obvious) and then use the same tempo change on the acapella. Or just beat match it by ear on cd decks...
     
  4. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can mix but with fruity you just cant seem to get it spot on
     
  5. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    chop the accapella to 4 bar, 8 bar or 16 bar bits and do one by one, makes it sweet lot easier.
     
  6. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm being well noobish but i really cant get fruity to do that shit &-) I Can chop it in bars but it still is hard to line up perfect.. plus there are shit loads of bars to arrange and it has to render everytime so it takes long :cool:
     
  7. Bad Ace

    Bad Ace Close2Death

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Hants, uk
    get acid or sumin like that.....set a 4x4 beat at what eva u want.export that into acid then mix the accapella in in acid.then after take the 4x4 beat out and then export ur new accapella into a wav....viola!
     
  8. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still having in trouble with it in fruity and i cant be bothered to buy all that extravagant software to beat sync acapelas :|
     
  9. jay walker

    jay walker 1/2 of Passive/Aggressive

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    between a rock and a hard place, Hants
    I'll write you a quick detailed description how i'd do it in FLStudio tomorrow, im not on my pc at the moment.
     
  10. jay walker

    jay walker 1/2 of Passive/Aggressive

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    between a rock and a hard place, Hants
    Time stretching Accapellas and samples:

    Click 'SMP' tab in the channel settings on the right.

    'Time Stretching' under 'loop' points light.

    Use 'MUL' knob, to left makes it faster, to the right, slower.

    Use the 'PITCH' knob to adjust octave of sample.

    TIPS: Use sections of samples, cut into bars id suggest.
    Hold Ctrl key when turning the knobs, its give you more precise control when adjusting by 1% (Bigups SDM for that tip!).
    Turn the 'SNAP' feature from 'LINE' to 'NONE' if the sample doesnt start on beat, just open the piano roll, an manually move the sample to where you want it to start.

    Hope that helps :spliff:
     
  11. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thanks for all your help cause i've acually been able to sample a couple of bars out of an old reggae tune and mix it in fruity to match the beats :D I used the MUL knob rather than time stretching and with a bit of careful manouvering i got it perfect :D Thank you all!!
     
  12. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    put your sample in the playlist editor lower screen and you can grab the edges of the sample and stretch it and move it and what ever if you prefer that visual feedback.
     
  13. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    i rarely use voice samples but i put them into the slicer that seems to work
     
  14. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    tip for using full lenth accapellas in fruity......

    sometimes accapellas wont stay in sync, especially if the accapella is from a track where the music was played by a band without spot on digital timing so heres a tip for ya.......

    1. drag the accapella into the lower screen of the playlist editor

    2. play the metronome (or music) with the accapella and adjust the speed of the acc to as close as you can get it right

    3. when the acc starts to go out of time, select the slicing tool (looks like a stanley knife) and slice the acc just before it goes out of time.... dont slice thru vocals tho, slice in between

    4. now move the rest of the acc so it lines up again ;)

    5. when it starts to go out again, repeat :)