Beat matching Traktor

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by onemike, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ez guys,

    4 years ago I switched from vinyl to traktor. And I think it’s one of the best decisions I ever made because I saved a couple of thousand euro’s buying tunes. And the ease I can select my tunes.

    Now yesterday my laptop went to the repairs shop so me and my mate had some fun with playing some of my old vinyl. What I have noticed is that beat matching with vinyl is so much easier. I think this strange because traktor has the same setup (vinyl).
    Is there some option in the setting of traktor concerning beat matching (NO SYNCING!!)?
    Because traktor never felt the same as spinning vinyl. Or do I need to change the weight settings of my technics.

    I want to change this because when I beat match on Traktor the tunes never stay locked.

    I hope u guys understand what I mean and have a solution for me.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    I have the same problem mate, only been using traktor for a month or so, find the two of them totally different
     
  3. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    I have this exact problem, I'm not very good with turntables but I'm a lot better with actual records, with Serato the tempo drifts up and down so it's like mixing old disco tracks, not a fan at all tbh
     
  4. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    ain't that a bitch! I'm struggling with this for 4 years now.
    I'm concidering to go back to vinyl just because of this.

    I hope there is a solution for this problem. I dont want to buy al those tunes again :teeth:
     
  5. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    to be honest, I changed my settings from 33rpm to 45rpm and also I use the Bside of the traktor control which seemed to make a slight difference.
     
  6. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I'm already using the 45 rpm, and bought 2 new traktor vinyls recently. But no difference for me.
    Also with the b side.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  7. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    is it down to the control vinyl being more skippy etc? have you tried applying more weight on the tonearm and checked your anti skate etc?
     
  8. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    No it’s not skippy, but what Shatner said. Tempo is constantly changing. So when I think it’s locked, and I slowly bring a tune in..Bamm! Trainwreck!
    I’m going to try to change the tonearm tonight when I’m home. I hope it’s going to work.
     
  9. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    Sounds more of a config issue mate. Have u checked with the native instruments forum?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,777
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    where are you getting your digi tracks from?
    if you are playing vinyl rips as mp3, there is no guarantee that the audio file you are playing isn't changing pitch on it own during playback.
     
  11. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    @ Hyper Thnx for the info I'm going to check it out when i'm at home
    @ Teddy Just the normal shops like Junodownload and surus. I've a couple of vinyl rip but dont use them that much.
     
  12. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    please let us know how you get on man. to be fair though you will notice a slight difference compared to mixing vinyl as vinyl is well... better!
     
  13. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    There's no denying that. I had so much fun playing vinyl last night.

    I'll get back to you on this.
     
  14. Dannyboy93

    Dannyboy93 EL CAPITAIN

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Location:
    CROYDON
    I had this problem for a bit but fucked around with my laptop for ages, changing settings in traktor and on my laptop and now it seems to work ok. Still only play it on the odd occasion though when I wanna spin some new jump up, can't beat the vinyl's, only got it for tunes you can't get on vinyl
     
  15. Binary_UK

    Binary_UK Binary.

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    Bristol
    I had this when I first got Traktor, just went through all the usual stuff, calibrating weights etc, I find if you leave it for a good minute or 2 calibrating before you mix, it works better
     
  16. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    What kind of setting did you chance? And did it help?
     
  17. onemike

    onemike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Oke so this worked for me. Usually I start right away. I open my laptop, open traktor and start mixing.
    yesterday I started calibrating first. After that I did a 2 hour mix, and everthing worked perfectly.

    I even recorded a little mix :banana:

    Strange that this never crossed my mind.

    Thank you all!
     
  18. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    interesting, I always thought it was just the fact it was a digital system rather than analogue that made it different. I'll try the calibration technique.
    I do find it frustrating sometimes when it drifts way out due to 0.01 bpm differences, but then I chase the fader a little more on vinyl and actually listen to the music instead of being distracted by my laptops pretty colours.

    Pro tip: Map both decks calibrates to an unused key on your laptop keyboard, no more pissing with the mouse and that clunky UI, just press it. Shazzam!
    Mines mapped to the ¬ key, whatever the hell that is.
     
    Teddy likes this.
  19. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    so if i calibrate it for a few minutes before mixing with serato it might make a difference?
     
  20. Dannyboy93

    Dannyboy93 EL CAPITAIN

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Location:
    CROYDON
    mainly settings on my computer tbh, calibrated it on traktor and changed the display so there is the bare minimum showing, think I downloaded too much dodgey shit haha