Bass under a sample

Discussion in 'Production' started by BLoodstaiN`, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Well i've got this sample in a song i'm reworking,
    and i wanna get a subbass undearneath it but it sounds so damn ugly because you hear the subb too good. and if i compress the subb, there's no bass anymore.
    If i put the sample louder, my drums will suffer from it.

    So atm i've got a sub, which i've used in other songs, so it's okay. BUt under this sample it sounds soooooo ugly.
    This is also the first time i'm using a sample of a synth.

    not sure if someone will understand this, since i'm not good at explaining things ;p
     
  2. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    not sure i understand 100%
    But i take it you have eq'd the drums and sample to give the sub bass room?
    If so then perhaps the sample and the subbass are in different keys - which makes it sound odd?
    Maybe try changing the key?
     
  3. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    The sample is in C, the subbass is too.
    My drums are coming through niceley though.
    It's not a problem with the drums, but rather a problem that the sample doesn't take enough space.
    It's like a mono sound and the sub has this awful digital sound.
     
  4. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    hmm
    If you want your sample to sound fatter/wider you can add a touch of reverb or chorus.
    Maybe duplicate it and pan one hard left one hard right?
     
  5. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    will try, thanks ^^
     
  6. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Maybe it's not the sub but the main sample which is giving problems, try EQing the sample first to make some room for the sub.
    Also you could take out the low end and sub from the sample instead of only the sub and layer a plain low end saw wave underneath to give it a solid low end.
     
  7. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Not sure if I understand the problem right, but try loading the sample into different channels. Keep one clean with only the sub and leave that alone, have one with only the low end and do any modification and stuff on that one.
     
  8. polymass

    polymass @humanowrkshop

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Amsterdam