Bass samples.. Help keys and notes

Discussion in 'Production' started by Dj Jammin, Jul 23, 2007.

1. Dj Jammin

Dj Jammin Member

I downloaded some bass samples.. but i dont understand something.. they're all named stuff like bassampleC G E or whatever does that mean you have to play it in that key or do you need a different sample for each note?

2. vickvega

vickvega Mr. Blonde

just the keys that they were recorded in bro

3. Dj Jammin

Dj Jammin Member

what happens when you play a note thats not in that key o_O

4. fastfret

fastfret Member

the smpler with pitch shift the sample man. If it says G then set the root note of the sample on the sampler onto a G. hope u understand that lol

5. Dj Jammin

Dj Jammin Member

Can someone explain that in a bit more detail Im a noob :(

6. vickvega

vickvega Mr. Blonde

the sounds are recorded in a certain key
    when you load it into a sampler set your root key to what ever note that is and you will get the range of the sound

7. Indi

Indi Tha Original ThreadKilla!

Each sample is recorded in each note. When you load a sample into the sampler, the note loaded will be the root note of the key.

So, for example, if you load a B into the sampler, the root note of the key will be B, instead of C (usually the default).

When you play up the scale, instead of playing C - D - E - F - G - A - B - C, the scale of the default C key, if you load a B into your sampler, it will play B - C# - D# - E - F# - G# - A# - B. I hope you're able follow this so far.

If you want to change the root note of a sample, you cannot get it by simply changing the note. You have to change the pitch.