bass music listen injoy time to deploy!!

Discussion in 'New Talent & Track Reviews' started by MC_Abyss, Aug 30, 2012.

1. MC_Abyss

MC_Abyss Member

Ok I'm a fairly new producer and I've been having a couple problems, 1st problem I can't seem to make is sound like everything is a part of the song. For exaple it sounds like different samples layerd, it doens have that almost transpairent sound, its almost like all of it is fighting for space. How do I fix that, and please don't say experience because experienced producers do things to fix that it just doesn't happen for them. You know?! Anyway that and getting me bass to rumble, its there but its not super vibrant like I want. Its ether drownjng out the whole track or barily there how can I fix that?

Here is a track I've been working on. Use it as a example to better explain what I ment in my wrighting. Thanx

Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  2. IV4

IV4 Currently a newt.

I'm going to assume your talking about bass.
    All of the steps are general rules of thumbs not exact science.
    Find a kick hit at about 100hz and a snare hitting from 100 to 200hz. Use a spectrum analyzer. If you don't have one use a parametric eq and scroll through the freqs range with a peak all the way up. You will here where it hits.
    Have your kick and snare no louder than -13 db
    Use a compressor on your kick-the input gain remain at a neutral point/threshhold set to - 13 ratio- about 2:1 attack bring all the way down then play the kick, slowly pull it back a few mili secs until you here it pop a little better
    Repeat with snare
    Note: these are not exact figures. This is where experience come into play. Use your best judgement to make the kick and snare sound the best.
    Cut the frequencies below the peak of the kick.
    Repeat with snare
    Find a break and really high pass it so it just sounds like hats are playing. Put it in the mix.
    Bass:
    Take your bass and split it into three channels