Bass Distortion Hardware/Software

metaverse

connected : movement
Whats up everyone...

I'm new around here and to producing as well...

I was wondering what I should use for getting those crazy , dark , nasty eat your children alive type bass line rollers a la Dillinja, Ill Skills, ect...

I understand it can be done with a Keyboard (i've got a triton Extreme) and a bass distortion module of some type...

I was wondering if I should go hardware or Software...

In general im a SERIOUS NEWB and dont have a solid "mental" grip around how it all works so any type of help at all is greatly appreciated be it a suggestion on what to do or where to go...again THANK YOU and I apologize for spilling noob sauce all over your screeen... peace

~meta

For those 808-Dillinja basses you need an 808-Kick from Roland TR808 drum machine (im sure you can find a samplepack somewhere around here or just search on the web). You put that kick in your sampler and just distort it to fuck, maybe resample and distort it some more. Keep doin this as much as you want, you could also layer and EQ them seperatly and use some other effects if you want to, there isnt any rules actually.

I would recommend you to go software now since you said that you are a noob. But maybe you could switch later on when you've got the basics and stuff down. For free plugins I recommend you to go to www.kvraudio.com and search there.

But the most important thing to do is practice, it all will come with time as long as you have the will, patience and fun to learn everything.

Good luck!

Further to skyloves method, with a bass sound like that, it's cool to apply a chrus to the higher frequencies (not the low freqs, that would be very bad)...

Depending on your sequencer, you may need to route the output to 2 channels, or even duplicate the sampler \ synth. One channel with a low pass filter provides the bass, the other channel, with a high pass and chorus, provides some cool ass techy distortion (y)