Heavy situation in D&B this week!! We have serious pressure from Optiv & BTK with two destructive releases, Enei provides a great remix of LSB and Black Sun Empire see their work remixed by Prolix, June Miller & more!! Plus we have quality cuts from Ruffhouse, Nitri, Cabin Fever and more!!

In the promos, Kiwi duo The Upbeats work up a neurofunk storm on Noisia's Vision imprint. Dispatch welcome M-Zine, Scepticz & Detail to the stable with a superbly techy release plus S.P.Y's brother Unreal takes on remix duties for Dr Meaker's Radio 1 playlisted "Figher". Jump up King Sly remixes on the flip too!! Also we have cuts from Overlook, Hydro and many more!

New Releases:

Optiv & BTK / Audio & Meth- "Sabretooth" (Audio Remix) / "Grit" - Dutty Audio
Optiv & BTK - "Blackout E.P" - Blackout
Ruffhouse - 'Strangers / The Domino Effect' - Ingredients Records
Nitri - 'Survivors (Amoss remix) / Laser Gun' - Horizons Music
LSB - ‘Overthinking feat. Sian Sanderson (Enei Remix) / This City (12" Mix)’ - Spearhead Records
Cabin Fever UK - 'Four Faces Of Bass EP' - Grid Recordings
Curtis Lynch Ft. Million Stylez & Mr Williamz - Champion (Benny Page Remixes) - Necessary Bass
Black Sun Empire - "From the Shadows Remix E.P" - B.S.E
Mr Joseph / Flame - "Forgotten Emotions" / "Canned Sunset" - Liquid Drops


The Upbeats - "Alone E.P" - Vision
M-Zine, Scepticz & Detail - Point Of No Return / Reflexions - Dispatch
The Dream Team - Joker Project Vol 1 (The Return Of The Joker) Part 2 - Joker Records
Displaced Paranormals & Dubtek / Overlook - Lifeforms / Lusca - Inception Audio
Dr Meaker - 'Fighter - Remixes’ - V Records
Hydro, War + Mateba - 'Black Light / Enlightenment’ - Inside Records

Wonky / Bass Music:

There is some tantalising new material available this week. Firstly the time has come as we welcome legendary electronic pioneer duo Board of Canada's incredible new album "Tomorrow's Harvest" on Warp. Breach comes with one of the summer's first anthems with the impossibly groovy "Jack" on Claude Vonstroke's Dirtybird imprint.

Mak & Pasteman, a duo about to blow have been bubbling away in the bass music scene for a while now. "Dither" on Lobster Boy is their most high profile release yet and also their best. Also Scuba embraces a new alias ESS and delivers the monumental "ESS01" 12".

Plus Metronomy bass player Olugbenga displays a great understanding of arrangement and production with a superb release on Pictures. Finally "Insomnia" by Faithless gets a modern, moody techno reworking, a great DJ tool.


Fantastic new 12" from Ipman on an eponymously titled E.P on Wheel & Deal. It's deep but still has a lot of unusual elements to set it apart from the sea of deep dread releases out there. It features 3 tracks, one of which is a remix of an Ipman & Killawatt track.

Also Von D, the most soulful man in Dubstep joins the ranks of the Get Darker label with a superb 3 track 12" headed by the seriously heavy "Deeper" ft. PhePhe, It begins with a warm padwashed intro and leads to a wicked bouncy bassline!!

Tectonic, the ground breaking label brought to you by Pinch presents "Tectonic Plates Pt.4"! this new volume focuses on 140bpm beats that stray from the standard Dubstep formulaic beat pattern! It's packed with heavy and dark bass bombs and features Kryptic Minds, Jakes, Guido, Beneath and a load more!!