Audio Interface or Audio Card?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Nicholas Stigma, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. Nicholas Stigma

    Nicholas Stigma STEADY ON OL' CHAP

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Veria, Imathia, Greece, Greece
    I realized to produce decent music you will need a Good gear.
    My productions lack of high and low frequency, and has a short limit of decibels.
    My main cource is to improve the rendering quality. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Sinn-R

    Sinn-R Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zoersel, Belgium
    I'll add a question to that: Can I use my NI Audio 6 for production?
     
  3. Blasék

    Blasék Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Finland, JKL
    I suggest to buy audio interface. It's more flexible i think. Which is better, depends a lot of your audio card/interface. I just purchased this audio interface: http://www.thomann.de/fi/maudio_fast_track_pro.htm
    It's cheap and decent and all I need to do is install drivers and connect that USB-wire into my CPU. Btw, Do you have PC or Mac, laptop or desktop?
     
  4. neddez

    neddez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    London/Southampton
    i recently bought an audio card and wouldnt recommend it, not enough sockets

    id defo get an interface and would look at focusrite
     
  5. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    audio interface isnt going to do anything to improve your missing high/low freqz, or the volume of your tracks, sounds like you need to work on your mixdowns. that said, if you are using an onboard soundcard, its definitly a good idea to get an interface of some kind, it really doesnt matter wether its internal or USB/firewire, and Audiophile 2496 is a good PCI option to start with, plenty of USB interfaces to choose from at any price range
     
  6. Nicholas Stigma

    Nicholas Stigma STEADY ON OL' CHAP

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Veria, Imathia, Greece, Greece
    What are the mixdowns?
    Yes I am working on the onboard soundcard. Not satisftied from it.
     
  7. parsons19

    parsons19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Mixdowns are when you kinda blend the tune together dude :) Thats what makes all the top producers tunes sound so crisp, they have a good mixdown then a mastering engineer gives it one last bit of love and you have a nice sounding tune ! :D If you are wanting to know a bit more do some googling but its basically when you bring all the elements together and give each part a nice place to sit in the frequency spectrum, that would explain your lack of lows and highs I suspect!

    As for an audio interface I don't have one myself. But I strongly recommend getting one for sure! I am using an onboard soundcard (ASIO4ALLv2) and it often gets a bit glitchy and laggy and can use a lot of strength on the CPU. I am wanting to get an interface one day to resolve this :)
     
  8. Equilizyme

    Equilizyme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Audio interface can also give you the option of using mic(s).
     
  9. RedRavenRuler

    RedRavenRuler boom baby

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bloomington Indiana
    Everyone saying audio card has not enough inputs you can buy an RME card and in addition to that you buy whats called a breakout box (BOB) which gives you loads of inputs DIRECT into your motherboard... To me it seems to be the obvious best choice for low latency but if you'd like to have a portable solution an audio interface is the best way to go and I'd suggest anything from Focusrite.