audacity

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by tone090, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    is there any tips for when im using this because when i record somethink it always sounds crap the sounds not clear enough.
     
  2. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    make sure that the input level is low, i usually have min on around 0.4 and sounds clear enough.

    also make sure that anything on your mixer is at a decent level, if everything is up youll just get a messy sound.

    give it a go

    ez.
     
  3. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    in order for it to sound alright i have to put the input on 0 and the bass and gain well low. i prob just got a shit cable or somethink
     
  4. Ms.Snow

    Ms.Snow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    i had that same problem, it was mainly because the levels were too high, too loud.

    keep eveything in the green on the mixer and you should be cool
     
  5. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    my guess is that your all pluging into the mic input.... plug into the LINE input, the mic signals are far quieter than line so the mic input boosts the signal
     
  6. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    the above is true but even in line in this problem occurs, stay in green on the mixer and your good for!
     
  7. BDS

    BDS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ye Olde England
    maybe he hasnt got the limiter thing on?
     
  8. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,697
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Watford
    all about soundforge imo
     
  9. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    yeah soundforge is better, but none of these people are having probs because of their software, they are having problems because they either plug the signal into their mic input or because they are going well into the red on their mixer

    soundforge would record terrible too in these situations
     
  10. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    ive only got a mic input, headphone input and usb. can you get usb cables for recording from a mixer then?
     
  11. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    if you got a usb mixer then yeah

    even shit soundcards have a line input, you dont have one??
     
  12. tone090

    tone090 Bare back rider!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol