attack release of audio

Discussion in 'Production' started by kieran t, Aug 25, 2013.

  1. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    how would i go about controlling the attack and release of an audio sample? say a snare that ive layered and need to control. I've been using the xs24 and the built in enveloper plug in. im tying to tighten up a snare but its not how i want it, i want to cut it off before the sample ends but when i shorten the actual audio sample it doesn't fade it literaly cuts straight off?? i saw something on you tube an ableton tutorial, it looks really easy to fade audio with some sort of volume control they have. I've probably over looked a similar way in logic
     
  2. tewky1

    tewky1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    288
    Yeah in Ableton you use clip envelopes where you can automate the volume of the clip. Something to do with fades maybe? Sorry not au fait with logic.
     
  3. Dugg Funnie

    Dugg Funnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    238
    I haven't used logic since 8, but I'm pretty sure I remember there being a fade function on clips; if not then you could just load the file into a sampler and fiddle about as you please with the amp. envelope.
     
  4. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    If you are using ableton put the sample into an impulse or drum rack, then in the sample window turn down the sustain dial
     
  5. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
    yeah in logic you would have you use esx24 to manipulate those parameters... there is also a fade/speed up function but no as precise
     
  6. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    You can also try setting the fade values in Logic's inspector dialogue box (shortcut: i). Or you can use the fade tool (press esc than "9" I believe). This will allow you draw the fade rather than input a number into the inspector box, but they both work concurrently. If you want to go the destructive route, double click the audio region to open up the sample editor and then add a fade out to the wave form.

    Utilizing the EXS24 may give you the most freedom though.

    Cheers.

    Craig
     
  7. Mania

    Mania i fukin wot m8

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, AUS
    The fade tool is the tool you are looking for, in the tool menu. you can fade in to create attack, and fade out to create decay. You can zoom in on the region with 'Z' to be more precise