apple mac headz.. opinion!

Discussion in 'Production' started by _MILLA, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. _MILLA

    _MILLA Flamboyant muthafucka

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Abergavenny / Cardiff
    Ive been makin house/dubstep/dnb on my pc for a while now.. think i wanna up my game and get logic running on a mac!
    so ive got a choice! .. i cant afford a brand new one so im goin second hand!

    what would you suggest is best value for money and best out of the two?

    Apple macbook pro 13"
    2.4ghz
    lion os
    pretty much new, still boxed... 690quid ono

    or

    Apple imac 21 (2011 model)
    2.5ghz quad core intel core i5
    500gb hard drive
    12gb ram
    perfect condition
    6 months old
    750 quid ono


    argh! help ?
     
  2. msmith222

    msmith222 redbeard

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  3. parsons19

    parsons19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Not a mac head myself but I have used them. I vote imac mate!

    Of course though, the macbook could mean you could make tunes anywhere if that makes a difference to you. eg. if you were on holiday and had it with you could whack a loop out if you were feeling inspired! :p
     
  4. SuburbanFilth

    SuburbanFilth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    im using macbook but, I'd vote for the imac def!!
     
  5. _MILLA

    _MILLA Flamboyant muthafucka

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Abergavenny / Cardiff
    nice one lads!
     
  6. yogi23

    yogi23 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NZ
    I use an Imac which has basically the same specs and its great having a big screen and more computer power but sometimes i wish i had a laptop instead because i'm always coming and going from work or sometimes i just wana sit on the couch and knock up a quick loop instead of sitting at desk. But yeah if you dont travel much a sugest the Imac too
     
  7. msmith222

    msmith222 redbeard

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    i got a macbook because i expected to make tunes on the go. done it 2x in the last 3 years. still love my macbook, but that imac is set up with a better processor.
     
  8. Committed_Sin

    Committed_Sin Committed Sin DNB

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tilbury
    I have a MacBook but I'm looking at getting an iMac for the studio and using my MacBook for personal use instead of production.

    I would definately go for iMac!

    Also do you know somebody with a mac and logic? Have you tried it at all? I went for a mac and got logic and couldn't get on with it! Wouldn't want you to pay that money and get logic then not like it!
     
  9. Eternaloptimist

    Eternaloptimist Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    118
    I use a MacBook.same specs as u mentioned.get that and get more ram.u can still put a Tyne together but I'd have to bounce everything.a pain.
    You have more flexibility in that u can get a monitor or 2 and plug them in to use as an iMac
    Logic is a beast
    Good luck
     
  10. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin .

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Exeter
    imac, but check out other daw's on pc, before hopping to logic, as ur paying so much for the mac you could get a much better spec pc, i was gnna go mac but studio one with enough vsts and im happy, plus without a massive hole in my pocket!
     
  11. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    my PC has a bitch fit trying to run multiple tracks on FL at dual-core 2.3ghz, so don't know how that macbook would handle logic. laptops probably arent the best choice.
     
  12. alz

    alz compress to impress

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
    imac, but depends if ur gonna dj out and wanna play ur tracks on traktor/serato
     
  13. cohma101

    cohma101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    I have the macbook. . . .I travel a lot and get most of my ides when I'm out, so being able to work on stuff at the airport or where ever is great. I wil say though. . .When buying a Mac, just buckle down and get a new one. The don't really depreciate so getting a used one is only a few hundred from new anyhow. . . unless you got someone selling one cheap
     
  14. DJWhizzkidd

    DJWhizzkidd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    9
    My question is....what are you currently using exactly? specs wise, software wise

    and do you intend on paying for software?
     
  15. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin .

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Exeter
    hahaha that's what i thought you wrote then
     
  16. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    563
    Location:
    Feltham
    Get someone to build a PC for you and install OSX.
    You end up with a computer that has the same amount of processing power as an Imac but for half the price
     
  17. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Great idea, but much easier said then done.

    Even if you're tech saavy, it requires a bit of research & effort to ensure you purchase the very specific components in order to "trick" the osx into thinking that you're using a factory Mac.

    Of course if time is on your side and you like building shit, go for it, you will definitely save some coin.

    Cheers.
     
  18. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin .

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Exeter
    theres plenty of guides online on building a hackintosh...

    search it.... I think the equivalent of a high spec iMAC i7 etc cost about 700/800, and the MAc Pro equivalent is more like 1000,,,... worth it ... but theres the pain in some things might not work and stopping updates as it may cause ur system to fail etc, i looked into it... then decided against it!