Anyone use Guitar Rig on their tunes?

Discussion in 'Production' started by mr meh, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    So i got Guitar Rig as part of Komplete 7 but the few times i tried it, it was making my basses and such sound way too harsh, plus there is so much stuff in guitar rig i didnt really know where to begin with it so ending up shelving it.

    So does anyone here use it? If so is it worth putting the time in to learn how to use it properly, or should i just buy something like Decapitator instead?
     
  2. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Definitely. Guitar Rig is nice because it comes with some lovely tools besides the guitar plugins (ex. TransAttack)...however, that was with my Komplete 8 kit so I'm unsure if they're included with Komplete 7.

    As a rule of thumb, when I use any of the guitar rig distortions on a bass sound, I set it up as a send. I find that putting it directly on the bass channel really causes that harsh bass sound.

    The reverbs in guitar rig are just ok, but I find the compressors, noise gates and phase/tube effects are quite lovely when used sparingly.

    And if you have a real guitar plugged in through guitar rig, you'll really notice the impact.
     
  3. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Thanks lost, yeah i was applying the distortion directly to the channel, i'll try using it on a send next time. Cheers.

    Also do you have any recommendations for distortions to use? There seems to be so many in guitar rig...
     
  4. BenCoherent

    BenCoherent New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    fine advice about putting it in as a send!!

    some of the traktor plugs are nice aswell! all round a great plugin and a lot more diverse than you'd expect!

    it does get a bit strong with all the options of amps and cabs, it really depends on the sound your putting through and what your trying to grit up. so many i cant even think of my favourite right now in fact!
    just play!! they all have a character taken from classic amps.
     
  5. yogi23

    yogi23 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NZ
    Yeah i use it on my mid bass layers sometimes but i distort really sparingly otherwise it just sounds way to much. Try flicking through the presets until you find a sound you like and then adjust to taste, by changing or adding different reverbs and amps
     
  6. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    I really like the tape echo emulation
     
  7. Innovine

    Innovine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sweden
    i use a pod 500hd, same sort of thing. I love it for adding a bit of dirt. the trick is to turn it down a bit from the presets as guitars require quite a bit more coloration than synths generally do. for basses, you dont want to distort the low frequencies, distortion on low frequencies makes for mud and ugly sound. try a send with a bpf or hpf and then into guitar rig, and mix with the original again. this can work well with drums too.
     
  8. Bad Ace

    Bad Ace Close2Death

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Hants, uk
    agree with lostnthesound...........i always try and keep my low end of the bass clean as i can. so i normaly make a duplicate of the sound im using without adding any effects if i can help it and then i make sure it MONO. then the high and mids of the bass u can fuck up as much as u want. i havent got round to using any of the komplete programs so unfortunatly i cant help u in that subject :(