Anyone quite techy with the net and computers ere?? internet connection prob

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by mistasfx, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    I have seriously slow net ere... like under 1mb!!!

    We should be gettin 5.5mb. Ive been on phone to my provider and they say im deffo gettin that down my line and my router is gettin that speed into it but as soon as it gets to this laptop it slows right down which leads me to believe theres something on my lappy thats eating the connection.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. herojuana

    herojuana hairy kuala

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,589
    Likes Received:
    948
    Location:
    London/Sheffield
    all that child porn.
     
  3. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    thatson the pc upstairs and its off at the mo
     
  4. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    don't be fobbed off by ur provider, first of all, who are you with?
     
  5. Scatcat

    Scatcat It don't mean shit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    yeah u sure that's happening, like have you checked yourself?
     
  6. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    what laptop have you got, or wireless fob?
     
  7. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    for 2 years i had internet trouble and went thru 3 providers, went with BT finaly, they did a FULL line check, and now its been great ever since...
     
  8. Jacomelli

    Jacomelli J4COM3LL1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    http://www.speedtest.net/ run this test to confirm that is the speed you are getting.. also make sure your line (if wifi) is a secure network as you may have sum nob connected to your wifi who lives next door. give that ago... if you still have issues. get a mate to bring his laptop round and check the speed also..

    if all else fails.. speak to your providier and tell em you dun a line test and tell em to sort it out... it might be the exchange in you area is got too many feeds from it.

    other then that i wouldnt have a clue. ;)

    also try a few line speed testers to get a good reading......you can google them.
     
  9. thegeneral

    thegeneral Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north north north
    just tried that im supposed to be on 20mb and only on 19.85 ooooh the scandal
     
  10. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    this .... run speed test .. best its pissin you off a treat .. i used to have (years ago ) shitty slow dial up .. net was wank , waiting for pages to load ect.. luckily now its fast as fuck
     
  11. Scatcat

    Scatcat It don't mean shit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    lol I only got 8.81 count yo'self lucky
     
  12. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    its slowly went downhill for bout a week.

    used to get 5.5mb speeds then its slowly went down to under 1mb.

    speedchecker says 1mb, its a netgear wireless router with sky broadband but that claims to have 5.5mb goin into it when i check that.

    I dont even wanna speak to sky, them indian call centres are a nightmare. they read off a script so once u try and take them off script they aint got a clue
     
  13. greddie

    greddie Super Sir Loin

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Brighton
    unplug it and plug it back in again
     
  14. losty

    losty losty2010

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Bt= shit, safest is Virgin but u cant download stuff....
    Sky is alright, o2 is average.
     
  15. thegeneral

    thegeneral Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north north north
    i got unlimited downloads on my virgin and it shits all over bt cos its the old ntl connection
     
  16. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    PAH thats fucking nothing

    I'm paying for 20mb and get 1.2mb, the nearest telephone exchange wont go any faster....