Anyone done a dualboot/double OS with WIN 7?

Discussion in 'Production' started by kama, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    I'm planning on this, and although I've done it before, it was years ago and the OS in question was Windows 98 :sadbana:

    Since I do a lot of other stuff on this computer as well like play games, waste time on the internet, photo editing and all that, plus it's a shared thing with my missus. During the first few months of win 7 it was amazingly fast and I couldnt get the CPU to choke whatever I threw at it production wise. Recently it has slowed down, boot times have grown etc.

    Win 7 is definately the way to go for me, and I'd like to keep my production OS as clean as possible, without network connection, firewalls etc. So i think in this case the only option is to have 2 installs of windows. Googling this stuff up atm.

    Anyone done this before, have any tips or advice or useful links?
     
  2. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i was thinking id do this and keep XP but seriously everything works flawlessly in 7.
     
  3. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    I have win7 alongside my XP64 install and UbuntuStudio, although i've hardly touched 7 months, i'd reclaim the drive if i didnt need premiere occasoinally (doesnt work in xp64 :/ )

    The only recurring issue I have found with 7 is boot options, have to install XP first, then windows 7, or you can end up only being able to boot XP, easily fixable off the install dvd or via linux, but still a pain in the arse
     
  4. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    I've done it like half a year ago. But got back to XP after two months because a lot of software wasn't working on Win7, guess that is fixed now.

    Just follow the instructions in the link below.
    There are instructions for when XP is installed first and for when Win7 is installed first:

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/8057-dual-boot-installation-windows-7-xp.html

    Actually I'm now running Win XP 64-bit and Win XP 32-bit. Just in case when a plugin doesn't work on 64-bit. :D
     
  5. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Yeah but I'm really satisfied with Windows 7, and want to install that x2. I already got a response on DOA saying you just install it 2 times. simple as. A solution most obvious, it seems, is the one most difficult to realize.
     
  6. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    One in 32 and one in 64? Or both the same?

    ---------- Post added at 17:58 ---------- Previous post was at 17:54 ----------

    I just took a look at the Win7 forums and installing two versions of Win7 shouldn't be a problem, as long as they are on seperate harddisks or partitions.
    The only thing you'll probably have to do is restoring the boot from the oldest Win 7 after installing the second one.

    http://www.sevenforums.com/installa...i-install-two-win7-two-partition-same-pc.html