Any1 know wat decent sites to go on to buy some technics mk5's??

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by djhektikz, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    2
    Iv looked on sum american sites(cheaper) but they dont ship over to the uk for sum reason.
     
  2. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
  3. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    2
    i know all of them but trying to get em a bit cheaper! nice 1 though!
     
  4. DJ_DAFT

    DJ_DAFT is back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge
    Ebay.com bruva
     
  5. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Make sure your getting it of an english person tho as they may not have correct plugs
     
  6. DJ SCUBA

    DJ SCUBA Vinyl Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth - South Coast UK
    I bought mine from these guy, their based in germany so you do get foreign plugs. Not the end of the world, cause you can buy some good plug adaptors from Maplins.

    http://www.thomann.de/gb/technics_sl_1210_m5ge.htm

    I saw that chemical was selling them fairly cheap not too far back...
     
  7. DJ_DAFT

    DJ_DAFT is back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge

    good thinkin batman....but if they are going really cheap i suppose you could get some plug adapters - if you know what i mean
     
  8. DJ_DAFT

    DJ_DAFT is back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge
    SNAP!!! lol
     
  9. PeterM

    PeterM Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will be hit with VAT and maybe duty ordering from America so will probably work out more expensive
     
  10. DJ SCUBA

    DJ SCUBA Vinyl Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bournemouth - South Coast UK
    LOL. wouldn't go on Ebay though... spend the extra hundred's, save yourself the heartache. They'll be brand new, and they'll be yours and yours only...
     
  11. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Or instead of buying adapters you buy UK plugs and fit them to the cable yourself. Not rocket science! Easy as sticking two cables into two holes if you're not an idiot :)

    There are plenty of US stores that will ship to the UK but shipping is expensive and Mr Taxman will slap customs duty + VAT on the delivery.

    Most of Europe has cheaper equipment than the UK so check the EURO rates but don't forget about shipping costs.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  12. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Yes but its not just as simple as adding another plug as i've herd of people doing this and destroying there decks as U.K sockets are higher voltage than most other countries. So i sugest buying an adapter.
     
  13. DJOctane

    DJOctane Planetdnblive.co.uk

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    You should be ok with different plugs from Europe as they are all still 230v 50hz A.C

    But not america unfortunately, which run at 120v 60hz A.C.....

    Hope that helps
     
  14. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    A plug adapter does not change voltage. You need a transformer to do that.

    Europe runs on the same voltage, so you'll be fine with European decks.

    Most good equipment has a US/Europe voltage switch.