Altering BPM of Drum Loops?

Discussion in 'Production' started by BDS, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. BDS

    BDS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ye Olde England
    Ive got some loops that go at about 160 but need to reduce them down to about 140 or up to 174 ish.


    anyone know how/what i can use to do this?

    I use FL.8


    ta.
     
  2. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    bung the loop in the fruity slicer

    Find the loop in the browser on the left, right click and choose "open in the fruity slicer" or "open with slicex" if you new to FL open with the fruity slicer (easier to use if ya new).

    Now you will be able to create endless drum combos using the piano roll function ;)
     
  3. BDS

    BDS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ye Olde England
    cheers but how would i adjust the bpm?
     
  4. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    first the you have to adjust the bpm meter, its somewhere near the top of the interface. i might be misunderstanding your request here tho lol, let me know
     
  5. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,498
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    bump it into the playlist and stretch it till it fits.

    theres an "detect bpm" function aswell.

    all about fiddling.. gl!
     
  6. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    like state said, i'm sure a loop always plays at the speed you have the bpm counter set to. mine seem to anyway.
     
  7. zymastorik

    zymastorik Loves a good beat

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    So to combine the info here basically there is a BPM counter and you can adjust your BPM counter to set the BPM for the track. Once you've set the BPM, anything you stick into the slicer will automagically adjust the slice timing to the current BPM.

    Additionally, if you prefer to stretch the loop in the playlist ala Acid style, FL will adjust the BPM by applying the stretch function you select in the samples panel. Default is resample on mine I'm using v 7.

    Either way you do it when you adjust the BPM counter FL will resample, restretch or reslice the loop so it's in sync with your current BPM.

    Things to consider are ensuring your loop samples are in a slicable format (4/4, 2/4, 2 bars of 4 stuff like that). When using voice or speech samples by selecting the 'speech' option in the sample menu, you ensure FL will fit your sample without changing the pitch (mostly).

    Hope that helps.
     
  8. sook

    sook Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    i like to work in audio...
    i think its much faster
    than double handling
    the loop in a sampler...

    chop up the break...
    takes all of about 2 secs
    in steninberg sequencers
    and rearrange...
     
  9. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    i use recycle
     
  10. Fortune^

    Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Manchester
    this man knows
     
  11. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    its just so much quicker than chopping up breaks..
    + you can modify them before exporting etc..
     
  12. zymastorik

    zymastorik Loves a good beat

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Recycle you say I'll have to give that one a spin.
     
  13. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    Yeah, you can't beat Recycle for this kinda thing!

    If you want to chop us breaks or change the BPM it can be done in seconds.
     
  14. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    what are the fundamental differences between recycle and slicex? there aint any right?
     
  15. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    Is slicex a fruity thing?

    I don't use fruity so I wouldn't know mate.
     
  16. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    yes its a fruity thing lol, that sounded funny.

    Here's some info for you http://flstudio.image-line.com/documents/167.html . does this work like recycle mate?
     
  17. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    950
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
  18. Fratanize

    Fratanize Keepin the jungle alive

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PORTSMOUTH
    If you do this, make sure you change the sample settings in the envelope to pro default. This will stop the stretching adjusting the pitch
     
  19. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    I thought i was pro transient?
     
  20. Mattix

    Mattix Sub Focus anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Horsham
    Isnt there a simple time-stretching option like in Logic? Double click audio file, functions, Time & Pitch machine, enter original pitch and pitch you want to stretch it to and process! Done done and i mean done!