alesis m1 mk2 help :)

Discussion in 'Production' started by Nutek, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    hey, my monitors came but i'm not setting them up til monday (birthday) but i noticed there are no audio cables, can somebody who has the monitors tell me which cables i will need, also will they plug into the one headphone jack into my comp? help much appreciated, can't wait to get these beauties going!
     
  2. Reference

    Reference fair shout.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aldershot
    from the man who said you don't need a manual for monitors.

    you got a pic of the back justin? :)
     
  3. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    well they are just quarter inch jack inputs on the back, but im not sure what to buy because i only have one 3.5mm jack input on my comp :S
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
  5. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    dno man maybe an aux cable.
    can get them in currys or dixons.
    even argos
    or maplin
    possibley asda
    maybe even tesco.
    who knows
     
  6. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    mate you got expensive monitors but still using a shit soundcard??
     
  7. Mattix

    Mattix Sub Focus anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Horsham
    I run my monitors through a M-Audio Fast track pro (http://www.dv247.com/invt/29998/) which connects up to my computer through USB and plug both my monitors into it using Jack to Jack leads. Dunno if that helps?? Have you only got a headphone output for sound?
     
  8. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    yeah, i'm getting a soundcard as soon as.
     
  9. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
  10. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    there will be no point m8 without a decent soundcard or interface. Get yourself a card from the audiophile range which has phono inputs + outputs on it. e.g the red and white plugs. that will then go from the line out to the line in on your monitors

    which will either be xlr? i think TRS or Red And White Phono

    you can get leads that will then convert from phono to trs or i think xlr?

    there will be no point using your monitors thru a standard pc soundcard as you wont get the quality youll get thru an interface card. its worth the 50 quid investment m8.

    heres the link for the audiophile pci interface cards

    http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=products.family&ID=PCIinterfaces

    heres a link to some audio interfaces usb/firewire

    http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=products.family&ID=recording
     
  11. Fratanize

    Fratanize Keepin the jungle alive

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PORTSMOUTH
    you actually have no way of using them unless you get an external sound card with the correct outputs for them. another thing, you might wanna stick something over the led's at the front, they are blinding, literally.
    peace
     
  12. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    u dont need to use an external soundcard aslong as u got a card with rca phonos on it. external sound cards/interfaces are alot more expensive then the onboard cards unless u pick up some crappy piece of shit like behringer. Rca phonos can convert to trs jack balanced or unbalanced or xlr which are both inputs on the alesis mk2 i think. also i think u get a lower latency with onboard cards. Keeps it all ine one then


    heres the lead ull need once u got a soundcard

    http://www.djdeals.co.uk/prod-images/ProPhono-Jackmainimage.gif
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  13. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars

    Absolutely fine. And most soundcards will do fine until you start using outboard stuff when converters and midi latency come into question.

    It really doesnt matter which connectors you use, there's adapters for everything available that dont have an audible impact on sound quality when working unbalanced.. Only get a high end sound interface when you realize why you need one - when you start hearing possible noise from it, or when you really notice the latency issues.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  14. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    u will end up getting a shitter and less accurate sound from your monitors if you run straight from a standard onboard soundcard. Tried and tested mate.

    hes got a wicked set of monitors so wats the point of using some shitty soundcard for his nice expensive monitors??

    it dont make sense if he does.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  15. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    He's said hes gonna be upgrading to an interface soon but in the meanwhile, those monitors will just sit there unused, adapters for 3.5mm plugs -> 1/4" dont cost shit, maybe 5€ maximum. I'm currently using that to run audio from my integrated soundcard to my mixer, along with emu pci card (2 x 1/4" -> 2 x 1/4") for music stuff. The quality of the sound from the integrated soundcard hasn't really bothered me (as said i use it for mp3's, gaming and all taht random stuff apart from production). Though i've never even tried to produce with it, so i guess I'll believe your word for it.

    But what interests me more is why RCA phono connectors?

    (and btw i biasedly recommend an emu sound interface, for example the 0404 PCI is £79 at thomann)
     
  16. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    its his brithday monday im sure he can rustle shit up. if nething i woulda brought the soundcard first lol b4 he monitors.
     
  17. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated. I'll check out the links later, I'm on my psp atm :lol:. Cheers kama, just wanted to make sure. Like I said when I've got some spare dough I'll buy a pci sound card (most likely pci anyway). I'm thinking of getting some pads too..
     
  18. Fratanize

    Fratanize Keepin the jungle alive

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PORTSMOUTH
    nu tek. look at all the skullduggery you have caused.
     
  19. LineOne

    LineOne The Cubase Man

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thanet
    init lol. tis ok tho were all friends here :D
     
  20. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire