Advice

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by phrenzie, Aug 10, 2009.

1. phrenzie

phrenzie New Member

Yo, I'm a student with a pretty decent dnb/dub mp3 collection. I want to get some decks but there's not much chance of me affording many vinyls for a while.

What do you guys make of CDJs, like the Pioneer CDJ-400/800s? I would be able to mix the tracks on my computer but I know it's not the same. Do CDJs emulate turntables well enough? What would you do?

Cheers

2. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

In this day and age your spot on with CDJ-800s. They are in most decent clubs, so if you were thinkin of playing out then these would be the ones to get :)

They work pretty much the same turntables to be fair, just the platter doesnt spin like on technics CDJs (which is a waste of time imo).

Get yourself some CDJ-800s and yoyu will be set up for many many years to come, can't go wrong if you have the cash! There are alternatives but imo don't bother cos you'll end up gettin pioneer at some point, just the way it is :)

3. ScottyEightSix

ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

keep you decks and get serato?

4. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

He hasnt got decks

5. Fortune^

Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

sell your ringpiece for decks (what russla said)

6. phrenzie

phrenzie New Member

Nice one.

7. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

Anytime bro (y)

8. sotalex

sotalex man your battlestations

If you can afford a cdj 800 deck you surely can afford buying vinyls for a while

9. phrenzie

phrenzie New Member

I'm gunna try and grab myself some second-hand ones when my student loan comes through.

I've found a cheap pair of CDJ-800s MK1s but apparently it's only the MK2s that support mp3 files. I don't fancy burning hundreds of CDs.

10. robhicks1

robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

Yeah the mark 2 ones are better due to this.
    My advice for your first question is what everyone else has said. You wont go far wrong with CDJ 800 mk2's.

11. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch