ADHD and production.

Discussion in 'Production' started by CrystalMess, Nov 12, 2009.

1. CrystalMess

CrystalMess New Member

Hey all,

I don't know about you, but I suffer from ADHD. And by suffer, what I mean is.... Well, somebody on these forums has a signature that says something along the lines of 'ADHD: the power to do anything, the focus to accomplish nothing', and I think thats a very good way to describe how I feel.

When I sit down and start working on beats it seems so impossible to organize my music, to know how I want it to flow and the like. I'm still relatively new to music production so I understand things will take noticeable longer for me to do as it's also a learning process, but I have also suffered from this problem before. I've been playing instruments for about seven years now, but when I try to compose my own material I find it almost impossible to organize my ideas properly, to be able to convey even to myself what I want to create, and to stay focused long enough to make things work.

I don't know, maybe I just smoke too much weed. But are there any other producers on these forums who have ADHD? How do you manage to keep workflow focused/make your ideas and imagination come to life?

Oh, and I probably should've mentioned I'm not on medication for my ADHD. So thats kind of sucky too.

2. GiDriK

GiDriK Lost in jungle

shit is it only me or does it seem that this ADHD is spreadin like AIDS here?

Well sorry to hear that tho.. Hold on bro!

3. subprime

subprime Dysjoint

Well as far as I know I've never been diagnosed as adhd, and I struggle to organise my ideas or have a focused workflow either.
    So good luck with that one.

4. jimjimjim

jimjimjim oldskool

sometimes if i am trying too hard i cant get any tunes out at all.
    nothing siounds right
    try just experimenting with sounds - try new synths effects -dont try and make a tune - just see what happens.