ABLETON

zenzien

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
ABLETON USERS can you make a nice bassline just using ableton live i been going at it for a while and i cant get the bassline i want , or do all of you use massive for basslines i use simpler for my basslines ???
 

dexter

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
uhhh.. yes. i mean, using massive in ableton is still using ableton. but i make 99% of my basslines in operator, analog is nice too, both perfectly capable synths.

also are you asking if you use simpler for basslines im not sure if anyone can answer that lol.

just gotta practice man, it aint what you use its how you use it. rule to fucking live by.
 

Robmobius

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Do you have the native synths that come in Abe, as Dexter mentioned? If so you should be good to go with Simpler or Sampler.

Personally though, I use the Virus to create the sound and then bring it into a sampler. But I tend to prefer the Emu X3 at the minute, as it gives me a lot more control over my samples. But that's just me...A lot of people are using Kontact as their main sampler.
 

Krispy

Active Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Location
Alberta, Canada
Operator is perfectly capable of making nice basslines

and I use sampler/simpler for bass lines too but that involves sampling bass and not creating it yourself which some people will not agree to
 

Robmobius

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Operator is perfectly capable of making nice basslines

and I use sampler/simpler for bass lines too but that involves sampling bass and not creating it yourself which some people will not agree to

I know what you mean, but I presume that most people will create their own bass lines with their preferred synth and then jam it into a sampler so they can mangle it up in a way that a synth can't.
 

miszt

BASSFACE Royale
VIP Junglist
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Location
London
I only use Abletons synths now, they are PHAT, you can easily create a Massive style instrument if you understand grouping and routing properly (Stack up a few Operators/Analogs and FX), theres no need for VST's anymore, even Massive.....and its way more powerful, imagine having 8 sidechained Filters across 8 diffrent OSC's, YUUUMMMMMM sex wee etc
 
Last edited:

richie_stix

gomby plz
VIP Junglist
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
check my soundcloud (in sig, including free tracks)... all b-lines made in operator (one or two maybe in simpler/sampler)
 

Robmobius

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Speaking of Operator and even though I own Ableton...I never actually purchased any of their native synths. Most of the time I just use my Virus, (I've kinda' gone off Massive to be honest) but I think I'll pick up a copy of Operator at some point, as I really it's sound and you can do with it - Best of both worlds. :)
 
Top Bottom