Ableton problem...

Discussion in 'Production' started by ARTFX, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Guys maybe somebody here knows an answer.. I have been working with Ableton last week, and now I export and I conclude that in my 10 sec export, one of the kicks is missing... So I checked back in Ableton and the kick is there, it plays fine, but it's just not there in the export. I redid the export and the kick is now in the exported wav file, but I did realize that Ableton is acting a little strange. Sometimes it just seems to not have enough time to process a sound before the sound has to be played, resulting in the sound not playing. I had it happening to several tracks now, my kicks, my snares and my bass channel. The only reason I could come up with is this little plugin called the Voxengo AF Tape Bus, which all the channels use. Anyone had some similar problems with this particular plugin?

    So basically I might want to see if the plugin is the one causing this, so if anyone knows a good tape emulation plugin to replace the Voxengo Tape Bus with that would be great!
     
  2. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    hmm...never had that happen mate, but I dont use that plugin. But I have used Voxengo Boogex without any problems....

    Have you tried freezing the channels to see if that helps?
     
  3. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Hmmm I might try that... I just took the plugin off and it seems to be gone, then I turned it back on and still the problem is gone... Hmmmmm.. Right, think I need to go out and light the blowtorch. :spliff:
     
  4. Alexi

    Alexi Drench Audio

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol/Southampton
    Best way to deal with temperamental plug-ins in Ableton, whether they crash or behave unexpectedly:

    1. Duplicate the track
    2. Freeze the copy of the track
    3. Flatten the frozen track
    4. Mute the original track, but keep it in case you need to change any parameters

    I end up doing this a lot when I'm running out of CPU, or want the same a constant effect, say with a glitch processor which uses random values, or when plug-ins have a tendancy to crash.
     
  5. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    have u updated to 8.2.6? i seem to remeber reading a bug fix relating to some channels exporting silence with certain plugins
     
  6. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Well I never knew that!!!! Not that it bothers me.....I'm all up to date here...
     
  7. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Hmmm I haven't updated yet, so I might do that tomorrow.