Ableton Library Browser, no sound when clicking samples???????

Discussion in 'Production' started by Mr Fletch, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    I always used to get the samples play when i click them via Abletons library browser down the left hand side of the screen. Which is perfect when selecting drum sampples to put in my drum rack.

    Now for some strange reason I'm not getting any sound from them any more? I've tried highlighting the small headphone icon next to the sample at the bottom but it's not changing anything???? Hugely annoying as I now have to drag every sample I want to hear into the arrangement view just to hear what it sounds like! Any of you know why this is? or have a quick fix? It's probably something simple I'm overlooking....
     
  2. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    I had this issue before, the way to fix it is to install quicktime player as ableton needs a plugin from it I think
     
  3. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Not sure if serious?
     
  4. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Seriously. This was quite a while ago but that's how I fixed it. Seems weird i know but you should try it
     
  5. lasiien

    lasiien Meh

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    check the preview/cue volume Fletch, this is on your master channel, on the bottom right in session view, it also has a headphone icon on it. If that doesn't help I'm not sure, if you're on live 8 maybe try the live 9 beta (it works well for me, though took some doing to get all my VST's 64 bit or jbridge'd etc.)
     
  6. Rajstah Vibe

    Rajstah Vibe soundcloud.com/rajstah

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    London
    Usually is the small button on the side of the small screen preview at the bottom of the browser window.
    I don't remember if it got a headphone symbol or something else.
    I don't have ableton with me right now.
    But it's easy to spot, just between the detail lower window and the browser, where usually appear the groove pool.
     
  7. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    It was this, thanks man, i figured it'd be something simple!
     
  8. lasiien

    lasiien Meh

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    yw, glad it worked :D
     
  9. Rajstah Vibe

    Rajstah Vibe soundcloud.com/rajstah

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    London
    Fletch... Did u panic?! :rinsed:
    lol
     
  10. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Ignore I ever said that