Ableton anyone?

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Indi, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. Indi

    Indi Tha Original ThreadKilla!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hull UK
    I just purchased Ableton Live 6, and I'm trying to get my head around it. There's loads of stuff I can't figure out (even after reading the manual). Anyone used it, and can they give any tips?
     
  2. vickvega

    vickvega Mr. Blonde

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    badlands of nc.
    im pretty familiar with it
    feel free to ask bro-:spliff:
     
  3. Indi

    Indi Tha Original ThreadKilla!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hull UK
    How do you get the warp points spot on? I always get mine to what I think is spot on and then when I play back through the mix, its out quite noticably.

    Also how do you turn off the default warp points on a track and keep them off? I usually turn Warp off and back on again, and they turn off, but when I place a warp point they all reappear again.
     
  4. vickvega

    vickvega Mr. Blonde

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    badlands of nc.
    set your beats to complex 1st
    you can dbl clk and they go off-the warp points ive found that if you dont go to in depth with them its better
    try doing it on just your snares
    im assuming your mixing tracks
    also try renaming all of your tracks -sounds a little stupid but it does make a diff.
    ive been using it as a rewire and a dj tool for putting together live pa its quite versatile and very user friendly
    once you get the hang of it your off to the races
    respect-roy:alchy:
     
  5. sine-tek

    sine-tek 100% MC Free

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Do you need a seperate out for your headphones on your soundcard or will it 'mix' the tune for you so all you need to do is cut and fuck with the fx? i'm having major headaches with ableton 6 (should be writing my dissertation and not playing with ableton tho :rinsed: )