Drum patterns

cliX-

newb
I was never really into music making before I started learning FL so I would appreciate if someone could explain to me the thinking behind setting up a drum pattern. Until now I've just put random drums in the step sequencer until I think it sounds good.:rolleyes:

Btw does anyone know how to make a drum sound fade slower?

I was never really into music making before I started learning FL so I would appreciate if someone could explain to me the thinking behind setting up a drum pattern. Until now I've just put random drums in the step sequencer until I think it sounds good.:rolleyes:

Btw does anyone know how to make a drum sound fade slower?

If you want to make drum and bass, then you'll need to follow the strict rules for the most part... study the amen break and learn how to reproduce it. Study the other popular breaks. Listen to a lot of drum and bass and hear these patterns. Once you are able to reproduce these you can start to add little variations, this is where you can start to show off your creativity, innovation, style, and so on, but you need to be able to reproduce the basics before that, cos otherwise, it'll just sound like you threw random drums into the sequencer, no offence.

If you want to make drum and bass, then you'll need to follow the strict rules for the most part... study the amen break and learn how to reproduce it. Study the other popular breaks. Listen to a lot of drum and bass and hear these patterns. Once you are able to reproduce these you can start to add little variations, this is where you can start to show off your creativity, innovation, style, and so on, but you need to be able to reproduce the basics before that, cos otherwise, it'll just sound like you threw random drums into the sequencer, no offence.

what a load of poo!

you dont have to be able to reproduce other peoples breaks.
just experiment... its all about new idea's!