Total new guy here, Please help me.

ludvista29

Hey guys, I'm totally new to drum and bass production. I have been checking some of this music out and it really interests me. I'd love to start making some of my own music, but I have no idea where to start. I know a fair amount about recording programs etc., but I'm more of an Audio recording guy, not a producer. Can anyone help me on where to start. Sorry if this has been asked before. Also I have Ableton Live 7, Reason 4.0, Logic Pro 8 and a Midi Keyboard. Let me know if you want me to make my question a little more specific! Thank you so much!
Mike
Edit: I have no idea where to start. Are there like terms and stuff I should know, and what are some things that drum and bass music should have in it? I really have no idea what I'm doing at all. I just need a starting point. Also, can any of you recommend me some DnB to listen to??

Last edited:
There's definitely people who can help ya out on here. And yeah, narrow down the question abit to give 'em a startin' point on where to help ya out. I started usin Reason 3.0 in Janurary 2007, now up to Reason 4.0, but I'm such a novice still, not sure if I could help much in advice....pz & respect and good luck to ya'!

There's definitely people who can help ya out on here. And yeah, narrow down the question abit to give 'em a startin' point on where to help ya out. I started usin Reason 3.0 in Janurary 2007, now up to Reason 4.0, but I'm such a novice still, not sure if I could help much in advice....pz & respect and good luck to ya'!
hahaha alrighty man thanks.
I guess what I'm trying to say is that I have no idea where to start. Are there like terms and stuff I should know, and what are some things that drum and bass music should have in it? I really have no idea what I'm doing at all. I just need a starting point.

Welcome! I hope you enjoy your stay!
Drum n Bass Production is an awesome style of music to learn to produce that will test your abilities!
All the best!