Mixing - whats's the deal for a complete rookie

Striking Smith

Hi

I write and produce songs at home, and have always been curious about how DJs mix and if I can incorporate this into my stuff.

I am a complete rookie with mixing, and was wondering what it is exactly you do? Is it a matter of mixing one song into the next at the perfect point, or do you program your own beats into the mixes too? Are you combining a whole lot of samples together, or playing complete songs mixed into one another?

Cheers

Tommy T

mixin on turntables u generally mix whole songs into others but sometimes u can do pc arranhed mixes but tbh i recon thats kinda cheatin!:rinsed:

The basic type of mixing is putting one song on top of another.

When you get good at it, you can use your decks and mixer like an instrument, chopping bits of songs, samples, into each other. That's what both scratching and techno (the real type, not the much abused general phrase) are based on.

You can also mix using turntables and an instrument which add sounds. By instrument i don't mean a trombone but a computer setup like Ablethon. You play along with the record. Generally you'l have programmed plenty of stuff previously to play. This is a favourite style of cutting edge producers, but they're on the fringe of straight up dnb. You might also need a friend to work with to cope with all the equipment.

Most dnb mixing is of the first and basic type.

LOL! Nothing like stating the obvious!

DJing isn't just about seguing 2, or even 3 or 4 records together. It's also about reading a crowd, exciting people and generally creating a shed load of energy for people to bounce around to, etc etc.

If you want the basics of seguing then...

buy some decks like 1210s or in your case a good set of CD players or nowadays a nice MP3 Controller like the vestax.

Just for ease, start with a song playing on the left and cue the one on the right. You can even do that with stuff like traktor if you're going the PC route.