tune selection

dj eeze

obviously when ur mixing u cant mix 2 tunes that dont go like the nine with the one.

coz no matter how good u can mix if the selection isnt good it will sound crap.

so i want ppl to post on what makes good tune selection and how they achieve it

how i do it is mix one tune that has a catchy tune i.e flamenco - sub focus with a bass orientated tune i.e warhead.

yeah i see what you're getting at there, but if you're mixing into a really hard/liquid part of a set then i find it's more difficult to find tunes that have opposing features (bassline - melody). My approach is to try and mix all my tunes into new ones i've bought til i know what goes with which. The only thing that i do find doing this is that it tends to lack spontaneity so now i'm just learning the tunes and dropping the one that i feel would be best for the mood, now that i'm developing an ear for the music it's becoming second nature to just grab a record, whack it on, and it'll go with the preceeding tune well (apart from my mediocre beat matching - practice makes perfect!)

now i'm just learning the tunes and dropping the one that i feel would be best for the mood, now that i'm developing an ear for the music it's becoming second nature to just grab a record, whack it on, and it'll go with the preceeding tune well (apart from my mediocre beat matching - practice makes perfect!)

's what djing is all about imo. going with the flow :)

took me years to get it, and still have some days where things just dont connect

big ups

Last edited:
obviously when ur mixing u cant mix 2 tunes that dont go like the nine with the one.

coz no matter how good u can mix if the selection isnt good it will sound crap.

so i want ppl to post on what makes good tune selection and how they achieve it

how i do it is mix one tune that has a catchy tune i.e flamenco - sub focus with a bass orientated tune i.e warhead.