Any Kit to sort out volume levels?

jimjimjim

oldskool
VIP Junglist
Hey there,
i got a mixer hooked up to active speakers.
I try an set each track to the same level on the mixer.
but you get some tunes that sound quieter or louder even though they are hitting the same level on the mixer.

So either it kills the mix or blows people ears - and kills the mix lol
is there any kit i can buy to sort that out?
i dunno like a compressor or something between the mixer n speakers. something to make sure the level never goes over a certain limit?

p.s im not a pro dj who plays on a club system. more of a mobile back room of a pub shit dj with a pa system kinda thing

^ This, or you can put any quieter tracks in any DAW, use a limiter to bring it up to 0dB and then they will be the same level as current masters.

You are over complicating things massively by not looking at whats right infront of you, like the gain knob :P

yeah i hear you guys.
i do that - but sometimes though its tricky. PA system blasting out loud right near me head. trying to match levels in headphones can be a bit hit n miss.
so occasionally it goes wrong - normally with an older tune.
Thought there might be something to help - nevermind. maybe just need better headphones.
i feel a bit of a douche now lol

Hmm sound like you're making excuses dude, i've mixed in every single possible environment going and there is always a way to get your gains right. Level meters on the mixer is another reference whilst comparing in headphones.

Personally tho you just need to sort all your old tunes to be louder, simplest solution.

What mixer do you have btw?

got a behringer 404 mixer.

think it must be the headphones - i have it at full volume (the headphones) and when the PA is running loud i can hardly hear whats going on in them over the top of the PA
got some cheap sienheiser headphones - approx £30 value.